WOW is all I can say…

November 15, 2010 at 7:29 pm 1 comment

…I made it through my major goals for last week.  This week’s list is considerably smaller because work is considerably busier.  But let me tell you…this writing down the goals for the week on the calendar is just what this girl needed.  I had been so busy for so long with work that when I wasn’t working, I didn’t know what to do with myself.  I knew there was stuff to do, but I couldn’t think of what is was.  So I wrote a long list in a clear-headed moment and am taking it in bite-size chunks so I don’t overwhelm or exhaust myself.

I had some neglected areas in my home which honestly, I think are better than having neglected people in my home so I’ve given myself some slack for letting it get so bad.  If you don’t know me, you don’t know that the folks at the Good Will drop-off site know me by name.  When I arrive, “Hi Mrs. B, side door or back?” is what they say because they see me twice a month.  I’m not a hoarder, I’m not a pack rat, I purge on a regular basis.  That is why this week was so shocking to me.  Here is last week’s progress around our neck of the woods…

My closet before (don’t judge):

…and after:

Lesson Learned:  I am a blessed girl and I do have plenty to wear.  The amount of scarves and sweaters are proof that from October until April I am never warm.

Spice shelf in cupboard that was a total pain in the butt:

Spice shelf that is now far more functional:

Lesson Learned: turntables (aka lazy susans) are essential for spice cabinets.  Splitting your savory spices from your baking spices in plastic containers is genius (pat yourself on the back) because now when you’re baking you can pull out one container and find what you need instead of rummaging through everything else in the cupboard searching for that elusive cinnamon.  Also?  Your husband?  He needs an intervention.  He is a spice addict and must be put on a buying ban until he uses up what he’s already purchased.

Just for kicks, I threw in the junk drawer in the kitchen as a little bonus:

Playroom closet that was spilling outside of the closet:

(Oh gaaaa….this was absolutely the most overwhelming task I took on)

The bliss that is now:

Lesson learned: if you ever move again, don’t let one box sit unpacked for nearly 5 1/2 years.  Even though you know what is in it and you know you don’t need it for daily life, do yourself a favor and unpack it anyway.  The regular purging you do?  It’s a good thing because this would have been AWFUL had you not been on top of it.  As it is, this led to at least 2 other projects to get the task completed.  It took 7 hours on a Sunday.  7.  Ridiculous.  Don’t do this to yourself again.

Final count for the week: 1 bag and 1 large box of trash.  8 large bags to Good Will.  Approximately $30 for organizational items (kitchen and garage) purchased at Target and Wal-mart.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

It happens every year… Get Closer….

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Tracey  |  November 17, 2010 at 4:23 pm

    Hey there, I’m usually reading your blog on my ipod and commenting on that thing is laborious so I often don’t. But I’m on my computer today and thought I’d check in to say that I love that you’ve been posting more frequently. I’m not checking many blogs during this season of life, which has been FREEING, but I do check in on friend’s.
    You and I have been on the same purging phase. I have been cleaning every inch of space in my house too, mainly bc we have to move in the next couple of months.
    Tell Tim that he needs to build you some shelving in that storage closet!
    And you need to get JJ Heller’s new album. She’s wonderful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,661 hits

