It happens every year…

November 11, 2010 at 3:11 pm Leave a comment

… at about this time for I don’t know how long; 14 years??  And last night because I had a random dream that I was surrounded by people doing illegal things while Ashley Ann and I made caramel corn, I figured now is the moment for the first batch of the season.  A little late for us, but just in time for the campfire banquet we’re throwing tonight for Powell’s cross country team.

It’s my mother-in-law’s recipe and it’s delicious.

  • 15 c popped popcorn (1/2 cup unpopped and it CAN’T be microwave popcorn)
  • 1/4 c light corn syrup
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1 c brown sugar, packed
  • 1 c butter
  • 1/2 t baking soda

Heat oven to 200 degrees.  Place popcorn in a large roasting pan or two smaller baking dishes. In a saucepan, heat all ingredients EXCEPT the baking soda, until bubbly around edges.  Continue to boil for 5 minutes (be careful at this step because it will easily boil over the top if you don’t keep an eye on it).  Remove from heat and stir in the baking soda until foamy.  pour over the popcorn and mix it all up.

Bake one hour, stirring every 15 minutes.  I recommend turning it out onto parchment paper when you’re done because it gets extremely sticky and will not come out of the pan if it cools in there.

Now I’m off to make mine to celebrate another great season of running….

What could be better than that?  Doing it while I get to babysit this wee little angel who I adore with all my heart and is now smiling and playing and cooing…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Making a list… WOW is all I can say…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,660 hits

