See this…

April 4, 2010 at 8:15 pm Leave a comment

…lady?

It is my friend Meda and her husband.  Meda has danced just about her entire life, I believe.  She owned her own studio and now works at another studio.  Joe always says he married her for her gams.  They are quite lovely but today what was lovely was how Meda used all her years of dance to worship God.  She brought my friend Cheryl to tears (I had cried the week before when I saw a preview so it was out of my system).

This morning was Easter service.  A large group of people worked tirelessly it would seem on putting together a display of the life of Christ, His crucifixion and His resurrection.  Meda used her dance in two of the scenes.  Here is what made us cry — her complete, abandoned surrender to using every ounce of her body to worship, the look of peace on her face and the small smile that lit it up.  I was touched because I don’t think Meda was thinking about the hours of rehearsal or the people watching in the audience.  She was just there, dancing before her Lord and letting all the joy and love and adoration come out of her in an act of complete devotion and praise.

This is something I read earlier today:

“He wants you. In his arms. 

By his side. Surrendered and free in His presence.
Not because you deserve it or have earned it or are perfect.
Because of Easter.
That’s it.”

I think what struck me is the joy she depicted while dancing.  It was truly dancing before the Lord as I see it in my mind’s eye, as I imagine the angels are doing right now.  I imagine He is pleased and delighted and thoroughly enjoying every moment.  It is an act of worship and yet displays the excitement and joy of a child and how I believe each and every one of us should feel each time we remember the life of  Jesus.

I suppose I needed to document this moment because it is hours later and I’m still struck by what that moment made me feel.  Pragmatic and introverted by nature I am not easily moved…especially in the moment.  But what I witnessed these two times I watched my beautiful friend dance stirred something inside of me and I don’t want to let it go.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Because this wasn’t… Proving…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,660 hits

