The next few…

February 15, 2010 at 10:39 pm 1 comment

…weeks Tim and I spent a lot of time together.  He made me laugh and I liked that but as time went on, I grew increasingly confused.  Yes, I was still nursing a broken heart to some degree.  Yes, I was an incoming freshman and he was an outgoing senior.  But it was more that.  He was very sarcastic and I didn’t understand that at all; my family is not a sarcastic bunch.  I thought he was mean.  I finally broke it off and according to Tim, he was now the heartbroken one.

I went through the next four years of college enjoying the experience.  I dated some very nice guys and after graduation I moved to another college town where I had gotten a teaching job.  During that time an old, old roommate called to see how I was doing.  She had heard that I had been sick the year before, had a lung removed and was just generally very sick for a while.  I assured her all was well and then she said, “You may want to call Tim.  He heard you were sick and he’s kind of freaking out.”  Really? 

I thought about it and decided to give him a call.  For some reason (or maybe she gave it to me) I had his parents number in Southern California.  I called.  His mom must have thought I was a whack job because she wouldn’t give me his number.  But within an hour he called me.  He was working about 2 hours away and wanted to see me.  I drove down to the restaurant he was managing and we ate lunch.  It was good to see him but again, I wasn’t completely infatuated.  I thought he was a good guy though.  I realized at that point that he wasn’t mean….by then I learned that sarcasm wasn’t truth.  Tim asked if I would accompany him to a wedding that weekend in San Luis Obispo.  I had never been there, it sounded like fun and I remembered the people getting married so I figured why not.

That weekend we drove down to San Luis and attended the wedding.  We had a lot of fun and ended up staying the night to hang out with his friends a little longer.  “I’m glad you came with me this weekend,” he said right before giving me the second of our three first kisses.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Once I… After that…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. gretchen owens  |  February 17, 2010 at 2:37 am

    loving this story…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,660 hits

