Have to do it…

January 30, 2010 at 2:01 pm Leave a comment

…I have to give an update on our girls….well, our girls and boy.  Not sure if I mentioned it before but we seem to have a rooster.  Have you ever heard a young cock (I had to say it) try to cock-a-doodle-doo for the first time?  It’s quite hysterical and sounds something like a cross between a cat coughing up a hairball, a sputtering engine and an old man who has smoked for 90 years laughing.  We’ll probably have to remedy that situation at some point but for now, he is fine and we’re hoping in Spring he’ll fertilize a couple of eggs we can hatch with the hens (not the manmade incubator in the garage).  Then we’ll give him away to a man in Kentucky who said he’d like him.  (OK, I honestly never thought I would write something like that: I’ll give my rooster away to a man in Kentucky.  Who am I?) 

But I digress.  I have another post all ready to go with lots of pictures of things I love right now but I just feel compelled to show off our babies.  They’re all growed up.  We’ve got about 4 inches of snow outside so a post on them makes me think of Spring and makes me feel like warmth is on it’s way.  Plus, my beautiful sister Jennifer has chickens and I know she’d like to see updated pictures (she is our expert we call when we have questions).  So here goes.  Our boy, isn’t he beautiful?  The picture actually doesn’t do him justice.

Here he is walking around with one of his girls.  She is the only golden one in the bunch.  For a long time we thought for sure she was going to turn white but she hasn’t.  She’s still beautiful and of course I love her best because I feel like she’s outcasted for being different (not really but it’s a pain that goes back to middle school so I go with it).

And finally perhaps the strangest thing I ever did see.  My son is a Chicken Whisperer.  That is what I call him now.  First of all, they run to him like dogs run to their masters.  Secondly, he can flip those little suckers over and rub their bellies (again like dogs) and I swear they become hypnotized.  It’s bizarre.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Highly recommend… 10 + 1…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,660 hits

