I really am…

October 9, 2009 at 2:13 pm Leave a comment

….still here.  I think about blogging, I do it in my head, I just don’t sit and actually do it.  I think it’s something about typing for a living that makes me want to bolt from the chair and keyboard as soon as I can. 

But alas, here I am.  I had to document this.  I had to say somehow, we were there, we were at yet another Light the Night walk and yet again I was moved, I was grateful and I was in awe.  I think it’s the biggest one we’ve ever attended.  It went through the streets of downtown Nashville.  It started at LP field, went over the bridge, along the river, past Hard Rock Cafe, past BB King’s and back into LP Field.  At several points I turned around and looked and as far as the eye could see was a sea of lit balloons.  With my poor photography skills I couldn’t quite capture it but I tried….

Sea

It was a literal sea of balloons and people.  I heard 2000-2500 attended.  WOW.  That’s a lot of money raised for a great cause.  As we walked, I was so grateful that I was carrying a red balloon as a supporter and not a gold balloon in memory of.  I was grateful each time I saw a gold balloon and I squeezed Tim’s hand a little tighter.  Here is our family, represented Light the Night style:

Our Family

And here is my Superman.  I can’t believe all he has endured.  But I think the look on his face says it all: he’s happy to be here.

Tim LTN

During the walk you can’t help but think back on everything, the details that your mind doesn’t go to very often because you move on, you heal in more ways than one and life shifts into other things that take up your mental energy.  But at one point, Powell came up and slipped his hand in mine.  He’s 13 now and I think he is starting to piece it all together.  He said, “Mom, we did it.  We helped Dad.  It was just the 3 of us when we found out he was sick.”  And so it was.  It was me, my sweet husband and my 9 month old baby.  I think that 9 month old baby is what made Tim and I fight so hard to keep it all together.

We made it

On a lighter note, K had a good time too.  The Titans Cheerleaders were there.  (Really, her brothers wanted to be IN the picture, not taking the picture, but they had to play it cool.)

Cheer

And finally a little something when I looked up at the night sky.  I just thought it was cool.  X marks the spot.

X marks the spot

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

They make my…. Hello…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,662 hits

