It’s official….

August 31, 2009 at 4:57 pm 4 comments

….I am now a mother hen.  It was a very busy weekend with all the hatching.  While they pretty much care for themselves it definitely takes sticking close to home to be available to transfer from incubator to nursery.  Dorene put it best when she said it’s like popcorn.  It’s crazy!  They just keep coming…

Our first little baby came early Saturday morning and our most recent just an hour ago.  We are at 17 lives chicks, 3 dead chicks, 2 still working on it and 8 we’re not sure will ever hatch.  But a greenie is on it’s way!  Can’t wait to see what that one looks like.

Shortly into the hatching on Saturday morning Floyd gave me the scare of the year.  Seizures.  Scared me to death but I calmly wrapped him in a wet towel and dashed off to the vet.  (That is when the calm left, that is when I knew we were somewhere that could care for him and I started crying)  Anyway, x-rays, blood tests and $$$ later he has a bacterial infection in his abdomen.   He was not a happy dog.

Sick Floyd

But I’m happy to say he’s much, much better today.  Starting to follow me around again and actually wanted to go outside this morning. 

OK, back to the chicks. 

Here I Come

Here I Come 2

I know I keep saying it but I think if we had to go through what they do, we would never be born.  Goodness gracious they’re exhausted when it’s all over!  The little guy on the bottom actually just flopped over the top of the egg next to it and slept for 20 minutes.  They flop around, they can’t roll over, they can’t walk, they’re quite pathetic.  But they’re so sweet and I find myself having a hard time not worrying about each and every one of them when they first hatch.  Here are 2 new hatchlings keeping each other warm.

Stay Warm

I mean, seriously, is that not one of the cutest things you’ve seen in a long time?  They peep like crazy during this time.  I think they’re trying to get their lungs going the same way as human babies cry.  Once they’re out for about 3 hours they fluff up.  We call this one Duck (even though it isn’t a Bible Chick name) because the kids think he looks much more like a duck than a chicken.

Cutie

And then there is this one.  The cross on top of her head proves they are actually Bible chicks.  (hee…)

Bible Chick

Here we are, 15 of the 17 up and running (2 are hiding behind the feeders, hey, you try and get 17 chicks all in one frame!)….

Almost Done!

….and 2 still in the nursery bucket (the one on the bottom ate it.  I lifted the incubator lid to get hime out and he flopped right over the edge smack onto the tile floor.  Scared me but he’s doing just fine)….

2 Babies

Can’t wait to see that lone greenie….

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Quick update… Snapshot of living…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. DeAnna  |  September 1, 2009 at 12:16 am

    Wow! So now my question to you is: What the Heck are you going to do with all those chicks?? LOL

    Reply
  • 2. Jennifer  |  September 1, 2009 at 3:43 am

    I love all of the pictures! I wish I could come watch!

    Reply
  • 3. Jen  |  September 2, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    saying, hello!
    and that those chicks, when they are first hatched look a little, well…gross! 😉

    take care!

    Reply
  • 4. gretchen owens  |  September 9, 2009 at 3:33 pm

    you were right…the boys loved looking at the photos! thanks for sharing. i can’t wait to see the scrapbook page you make with these…or mini book??? 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,660 hits

