Let’s play…

June 13, 2009 at 8:44 pm 3 comments

….a game.  There aren’t any prizes other than the satisfaction of knowing you did well.  But shouldn’t that be prize in itself?

Question Number One:

What is this:

Woodpecker Damage

A.  The spot where we stored all the wood for the winter which is now used up?

B.  An unfortunate incident involving an ax and one of my children.

C.  The remnants of what 2 very naughty woodpeckers did to a deck rail.

If you answered C, you are correct.  These were the strangest looking birds I’ve ever seen, I would have snapped a picture but it was 6 am and I just wasn’t that fast yet.  This is the closest picture I could find but I promise you, this isn’t the exact bird.  I also promise you they were large, the size of a bantem hen.  The birds we saw had yellow feathers coming out the top of it’s head…they were a cross between a pteredactyl and a dodo bird.  Think Kevin from UP if you’ve seen that movie.

Woodpecker

So what does one do when naughty woodpeckers invade their decking?  Well first you call pest control to make sure you don’t have termites.  Then when you think about putting red pepper in the HUGE hole they’ve created (because they kept coming back) you realize birds don’t have taste buds and therefore, red pepper won’t bug them.  So then you go in the garage and find an old bath mat and you do this, squint your eyes and hope for the best when the bug man comes a calling Monday morning.

Woodpecker Solution

Question Number Two:

What is this:

Old Umbrella

A.  An  old umbrella used poolside to keep you shaded when not swimming.

B.  A cheap umbrella that blew into the pool and ended up at the bottom during a freak, unexpected summer storm that aren’t uncommon in Tennessee that was then hauled up with all your might while trying not to fall into the pool.

C.  All of the above.

If you answered C, you are correct.  It was a crazy storm.  A sunny one minute and can’t see 12 inches in front of your face the next minute storm.  A blow the power out storm.  A HOLY COW LOOK AT THAT storm.  It gave my kids the opportunity to earn extra allowance though because it created a lot of limb/stick pick up and re-potting of things that blew over.  As for our beloved little umbrella.  Well, after putting it back together multiple times, this was our solution:

New Umbrella

Thank goodness for all those extra hours of work lately.

Question Number Three:

What is this:

Damage

A.  An unfortunate accident with unloading the new umbrella.  A smack down of sorts with a metal pole and my bumper.  Who knew umbrella poles could be so heavy?

B.  Nothing new…it’s been there for years.

C.  The result of one cell-phone talking, braces-wearing teenage girl who rear ended me driving home from church.

If you answered C, you’re right.  She was busy.  She was self-admittedly looking at her cell phone.  She didn’t see the red light.  We were dead stopped.  She was full speed.  Thank you God that the damage isn’t much worse because guess what?  She’s a minor so the police wouldn’t give me any information on her (don’t you think if you’re old enough to drive and run into somebody the privacy of being a minor should be waived), her parents haven’t called me yet and I don’t think they’re insured.  Thank you USAA for saying you’d handle it for me.  Sic ’em!  But in the meantime, here is our solution to this little problem:

What can you do

It’s to adopt a “What can you do?” attitude.  I’ve got it.  It’s nice.  It’s makes the stress go away.

I’ll give you one more, a Bonus Question so-to-speak.  What is this:

Coffee

I won’t even make you guess.  I’ll just tell you.  It’s my daughter’s very sweet attempt to make coffee for her daddy.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Yes, it has… Ready for…

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tracey  |  June 15, 2009 at 6:24 am

    thanks for the laughs at 11:17pm Western time. I should be in bed but I’ve been with people all day and now I’m the only one up in the house and it’s glorious. Oh, and the kids and I made a fresh strawberry pie after our berry picking. Bring back memories? I almost called you for the recipe but found it!
    And gotta love the privacy rights of that teenage girl!! It’s like when I sarcastically chuckled in the jewelry store as Michaela and I were looking into getting her ears pierced. The sales gals says, “if you do come back she’ll need you to be with her because you have to sign a waver that she can get her ears pierced. Her grandmother can’t sign it, only you.”
    I felt like saying, “Really?! Cause you know Michaela can just walk into the abortion clinic down the street and they don’t need my approval there.”
    Geez, I gotta go to bed.

    Reply
  • 2. gretchen owens  |  June 16, 2009 at 2:33 am

    that bath mat is HILARIOUS! love the new umbrella…very pretty…and the photo of you is really good. can’t wait to see that on a scrapbook page!

    Reply
  • 3. Karen  |  June 17, 2009 at 2:37 pm

    Oh I love it all Jill. What a great way to start a Wednesday! Or any other day!

    I came “over here” to share a link with you from my second favorite blog writer, Bo Stern. She posted a link to a cool kids goal chart system…

    http://www.goalforit.com/landing/chore-charts.html

    Have a great summer.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,661 hits

