It’s that time…

May 11, 2009 at 8:40 pm 1 comment

…of year again.  The time when I go into high gear for about 3 days planning, calendaring and preparing the summer for me and the kids.  I love it.  I love the organization and I love the anticipation of all that is coming.  This summer we’re having the Fischer kids over again on Tuesdays.  Love that.  Two boys and a girl and they’re the same ages as my guys.  Last summer Tuesdays were always fun and the best part was, no one argued all summer long.  Love those kids.  I’m also planning some art projects for Kati-cat and what life skills I want the 3 of them to learn this summer.  Last summer it was baking cookies (we made 12 different varieties), separating laundry and weeding the garden (an everyday chore around here).  This summer it will be planning and preparing dinner once a week (with help of course), tending to the vegetable garden and taking their laundry routine one step further…this summer they’ll learn how to run the machines.

Summer is always a bit easier on me.  There is less laundry since the layers of winter disappear and the kids live in their swimsuits.  With the extra bodies around the house there is definitely more kitchen clean-up and preparation of meals but there is also more help with dusting, vacuuming, etc.  This summer my mantra is absolutely to BREATHE.  I’m embarking on a creative, embrace the slow pace of summer adventure.  I’ll still have to work but I’m going to pepper in more time to relax with my kids.  We already agreed that for one hour everyday we’d all gather around the hammock/pool or in my bedroom to read our books.  Any good book suggestions?  I’m not much of a non-fiction reader so good fiction titles, please. 

Yep, I’m definitely in the mode right now.  I am realizing that all too soon Powell will be in high school, driving and unwilling to stay home as much as he is now so I’m soaking it in.  I am also realizing as each day goes on that we are in our long goodbye with Keturah.  She is not hurting or suffering at all but she sleeps most of the time and can no longer join us for walks that are longer than 20 minutes or so.  I’m not sure she’ll be around next summer so I intend to love on her as much as I can. 

I think I’m going to start my summer with a layout that quotes a song I can’t get out of my head.  We sing it at church and it is my truest heart’s desire; the place I believe you reach when you accomplish simplicity in your life:

I want to sit at Your feet,

Drink from the cup in Your hand,

Lay back against You and breathe,

Feel Your heartbeat.

I want to be a sitter, a person who isn’t afraid to be still and live in the quiet.  We all want to hear from God and yet are so unwilling to just sit and be in His presence and wait for Him to break the silence.  Really, I don’t think anything else in my walk is more important than this.  

So there you have it.  My plans/goals for summer.  What are you looking forward to?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

They’re a… I have to…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jen  |  May 12, 2009 at 12:15 pm

    “I want to be a sitter, a person who isn’t afraid to be still and live in the quiet. We all want to hear from God and yet are so unwilling to just sit and be in His presence and wait for Him to break the silence. Really, I don’t think anything else in my walk is more important than this.”

    Hand raised!!! ME TOO!!!!

    crazy thing about summer for me is that i will actually miss my time of peace; esp in the morning when they would’ve first left for school ~sigh~
    lately i have thought, “mondays are about breathing in the peace that was absent in the weekend!”
    seems like summer means for me=
    more laundry, more dishes, more food consumed, more running in the day.
    not that i don’t love summer and having my kids home, i do.
    the peace just doesn’t come quite as easy as it does during the school year.
    i think my summer will be doing what God needs me to do b/c it is his will and is right vs. being focused on what is best for me.
    i really do enjoy/value my time with God!
    hope you get some of that this summer 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,662 hits

