They’re a…

May 8, 2009 at 1:40 pm 4 comments

…month old yesterday, the Bible Chicks.  I’m sure they’re older than that seeing as they had already hatched when we got them but as far as we’re concerned, yesterday marked their one-month birthday.  They have gone from this:

chicks

to this:

Enjoy

The picture above is them in their new enclosure.  Tim finished it yesterday and while it still needs a few more things, I must say he did a fabulous job.  I don’t think he thought he could do it.  Well, I know he didn’t because he said so.  But he did a great job and the chicks are so happy to be pecking around at will, safe from dogs and other critters like foxes and opossums and raccoons.  It has rained here for what seems like EVER so it’s a little muddy but nothing some straw won’t take care of.  Meanwhile, they started to do this last week:

Fly

And they continue to make my children happy week:

3 WEEKS

…after week (I wonder if the boys have a “Thursday Shirt” because there seems to be some repetition going on):

4 Weeks

 

And we also learn interesting things.  Like, did you know a chicken can have green eyes?

Green Eye

Hmmm…who would have thought that?  Not us, that’s for sure.  So, life continues in our little corner of the world and I must say, with summer break starting in just 12 days things are looking pretty good.  I have been doing a lot of scrappin’, sewin’, etc. lately but I just haven’t taken the time to photograph anything.  I’ll try to make that a goal.  🙂

In the meantime I’ll leave you with this, just because I think it’s funny (at first glance you notice Kati-cat but then stop, look at that chicken…hysterical).

Funny Head

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Not about… It’s that time…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jen  |  May 8, 2009 at 2:18 pm

    goodness! they have grown!!!
    and i shall commiserate with you about the rain.
    although, it didn’t rain yesterday and the sun is out today. i am a happy girl!

    wow! summer break in 12 days! lucky you.

    have a wonderful summer with the bible chicks and the kiddos! 😀

    Reply
  • 2. DeAnna  |  May 8, 2009 at 3:05 pm

    They are getting big. Do you have to clip their wings? PW is begging Marlboro Man for chickens, he isn’t going for it!! The kids get out early for summer! Wow. I am sure you have their days planned for them. Have fun!!

    Reply
  • 3. gretchen owens  |  May 10, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    i like your corner of the world…

    so much fun. love those photos. hope you had a great mother’s day!

    Reply
  • 4. Tracey  |  May 12, 2009 at 1:30 am

    Hey! I didn’t know you had a blog! And as of last fall I have become quite the blog freak. I follow too many! So you are now one of my new bookmarks.
    I started a photo-a-day blog this year, so come over and see what I’m doing. A little bit of writing, sometimes serious, sometimes not. But mainly am doing it to challenge myself, push my skills, and of course document our lives.
    LOVE your chicks!
    t

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,660 hits

