If I were a chicken…

April 24, 2009 at 1:36 am 2 comments

…I think I’d like to be Mary. 

mary

She has a sweet disposition.  She is the cuddly chicken.  She is the chicken that gets along with both the others and she loves to sleep.  Yes, there is the drooling issue, but I think if I were a chicken I wouldn’t care so much.  Unless of course I was a chicken like Esther.

esther

Esther seems to know her business.  She seems to know everyone else’s business too.  She’s more aloof, always kind of off to the side from the other two but definitely not unaware.  I think she’s the alpha chicken….maybe more like the Alpha/Momma chicken.  She definitely keeps her eyes on things (Momma) but doesn’t really want to interact or cuddle with the others all the time (Alpha).  Now Ruth?  Ruth is the party girl.

ruth

Ruth is happy to do whatever the others feel is necessary.  She especially loves Mary because Mary will play with her, sleep with her, peck the ground with her.  Ruth is the flexible chicken, the follower, the one I’d worry about cracking under pressure and using drugs in high school if she were my child.  Fortunately I’m not too worried about my real kids though.

kids-and-chicks

The way I figure it they’re going to be so busy cleaning up chicken poop and gathering eggs they won’t have time to do anything else.  For those of you keeping up with the size change….here’s the comparison picture.

chicks-12

And for those of you….ahem, Tricia….who think it’s funny to call our Bible Chicks ‘Kentucky Fried Chicken’….here is your breast meat.  Nice, white, organic chicken breast.

belly-rub1

We have several other signs of Spring around here too.  Like the baby birds that always nest in our front yard.  There are others all over the backyard but these little guys are the only ones we can reach and snap photos of.  Count it as clutch #1 of the year for this particular nest.  We usually get 3 or 4 (Fran, close your eyes).

baby-birds

There are 3 of them.  All lined up in a row.  Love ’em.

There are also things blooming all over my yard!  This is just the front yard.  I’ll take you on a photo tour of the back yard in another post.  Always the first sign of Spring….the dogwood…right outside my scrap room and from Powell’s room he looks down on the canopy.

dogwood

And here are our two pieces of California.  A rose bush from the lovely DeAnna and Tricia and a Janapanese Maple that doesn’t grow super easily around here but we had to do it.  We’re doing well with it.  We had one in California and LOVED it so it deemed a repeat performance here.  The rose bush is supposed to be super fragrant which will be lovely because it’s just under my laundry room window so I’m sure when I open it up, it will smell up the room beautifully not to mention it’s right on the path outside that we all walk several times a day.

maple

rose

And here are just some of the beautiful, vibrant colors that are adorning the front and side of my home right now.  I love them.  It’s always a good thing to add a little color to one’s life.

busgh

pink-flowers

purple-flowers

red-flowers

So there you go, a photo heavy post for sure but that is what happens when it finally warms up around these parts and I don’t blog in a week’s time.  Besides, I saved you from all the beautiful hostas and day lilies that have also popped up.  Oh, and don’t get me started on the hydrangeas and gardenias and calla lilies in the backyard!  We could be here all day.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

More on the… Not about…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tricia Wilson  |  April 24, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    The flowers are a welcome site after a long winter!
    Oh, and could you also save me a leg to go with my breast?

    Reply
  • 2. Jen  |  April 27, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    tricia is bad!!!! lol!
    i love your pics of the chickies and the flowers and i am definitely a mary girl myself!
    take care! xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,661 hits

