‘Tis the season…

December 19, 2008 at 8:17 pm 3 comments

…and it really feels like it today which is kind of funny because it’s actually 73 degrees outside and sunny after weeks of frigid, gray weather in the 30’s.  But I think these guys have something to do with it:

schools-out

This picture was taken mere minutes after getting picked up from school (early) and heading into the restaurant for lunch.  There is something about knowing that for 2 1/2 weeks there is no homework, lots of sleeping in, staying up late and lots of fun in store.  I’m sooo happy they’re home for a while. 

I headed into this season determined to be organized and simplified and I did a good job.  Everything in my possession is wrapped, all handmade gifts are done except for one (I wish I could show you but I would risk ruining some surprises)  and all my shopping is complete.  I had adopted this perspective/method way back in early October because I wanted to really be present (no pun intended) in the season this year….I wanted to enjoy everything it had to offer.  Enter reality and situations others put us in and I was really struggling to get there.  But you know what?  God used even that.  Somehow through the frustrations and complications these situations have placed me in I have been brought to a simpler place. 

It is a place where I’m just happy my kids are home and we have heat and food and a fun puzzle to put together.  I’m glad I have ornaments from my past to enjoy and new ones to give my own children.  I may not have gotten my children scads and scads of gifts, but the few they will get they will love.  So, in the end the things that seemed to be complicating my season were actually bringing me to my goal of simplifying and enjoying my season (my Christmas season and my season of life).  When else will I spend every night for the past 18 nights answering notes my child has left to the elf that lives in our house?  (note: the note is left with saltines and water in case said elf is hungry)

december-2008-054

Also spreading some good cheer my way, lunch with this girl on Wednesday:

g-and-i

…and the fact that Alden’s class decided to forego their gift exchange this year and bring in canned goods for a local food closet instead.  See what 21 ten-year olds can do?  It does my heart good.

december-2008-058

What else does my heart good?  Knowing that I won’t be sitting in this again until January 6th (the line to pick up Powell at school):

december-2008-061

There have been other things helping me this week also.  Like the fact that I finished so many handmade gifts that I love and can’t wait to give away.  Also, yesterday I spent my entire day making these:

december-2008-0551

 and these:

december-2008-057

december-2008-056

Oh, and don’t forget more of this….I’m pretty certain there are a couple of packages going out very soon….

december-2008-053

The house smelled great to say the least.  Last night, we made our own little smorgasboard for dessert and spent the entire evening just sitting and talking and nibbling.  Yep, ’tis the season.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I can’t decide… New Years…

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tricia Wilson  |  December 20, 2008 at 1:04 am

    Yay for being prepared! Those treats you made make my mouth water all the way in California!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  • 2. DeAnna  |  December 20, 2008 at 4:32 am

    That biscotti better be coming to to Auburn!!

    Reply
  • 3. gretchen owens  |  December 22, 2008 at 4:08 pm

    you are sooo good. great photos and great baked goods.

    i’m sorry i never called you back the other day…i was in hectic mode and couldn’t get out of it…chex mix didn’t work out because i needed more than what we had and i went to the store to find that ALL chex cereal had been bought….argghhh…so it was dipped pretzels for me at the last hour of the night. 3 for each person…crazy, i know!

    i wish i would have just come over and popped popcorn with you…would have been fun. sorry i missed out on that.

    and then it was christmas with dad up here, so busy, busy…but slow busy so that was much better…

    sorry this comment turned out to be a personal email…but love your simple christmas…can’t wait to see your december daily…are you up to date? i’m not…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,662 hits

