I came home…

October 30, 2008 at 1:57 pm 6 comments

…to a few great things this weekend.  Really great things.  Great things that made me smile, inspired me, excited me, melted my heart….it’s a great way to come home.

On Sunday Powell had practice; nope, not running on Sunday, he is Larry the Cucumber in tomorrow night’s Trunk or Treat at church.  The jr. high group is doing a musical skit to entertain the little kids and he landed Larry the Cucumber….bald and singing about his hairbrush apparently.  Anyway, I dropped him off at church and when I came home I happened upon this:

The reason it made me so happy was because it brought out this face on my baby:

He loooooves his time alone with his daddy.  It just brings out the best in him and besides that, is there anything more attractive than your husband playing with your children?  Melts my heart and stops me in my tracks on a weekly basis.

After joining in on the fun for a bit I decided to go in and let them be alone again.  That is when I turned to my front door and noticed how blessed I am.  The beautiful Fall colors I could see with my eyes, the way the sun was kind of dancing through the shadows….the fact that I HAVE a front door; a place to call home, to be warm and cozy, to entertain friends, to shelter my children and provide a place where my family can walk through the door and feel, “ahhhhhhh, I’m home.”  Yes, blessed to the soles of my feet.

Once inside I decided to start dinner, turn on some music and just enjoy the quiet that was my house since everybody was outside or gone.  A bit later Tim and Alden came back in toting some goodies with them.  Tim had grabbed them from work and brought them home thinking that my crafty little self might like to do something with them.  I think it’s the only good thing about cigars…the boxes!

So here’s the deal:  I want to do a give-away.  I have TWO of the blue boxes and I would like to give one away filled with some goodies; they might be scrap goodies, they might be food goodies, you just never know…well you do know that you’ll get a fabulous box to alter…  Here is how to win the give-away: tell me what you think the irony of this picture is:

Tim and I thought it was quite hysterical.  We were in Macon County at Powell’s cross country meet.  Right across the street from the high school was the jail.  Right next to the high school was this field.  We’ll do a hat drawing of the people who get it right.  If no one gets it right, I’ll let the kids pick their favorite answer and that person will win!  I would use the random system that all those schmancy blogs use but I’m not Ali or Donna or Ree or someone who has thousands of people reading their blog so I think my system will work.  🙂

(contest ends Friday night at 7pm central)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I think… Boo!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tricia Wilson  |  October 30, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    Wow, Alden looks huge in that pic! His teeth look great after the braces too.
    That pic has got to be tabacco. The irony of it being across from a school is that are not allowed to smoke it. I think it’s awesome that the High School is located in the midst of such prime real estate (wink)!

    Reply
  • 2. Annemarie (MommyVictory)  |  October 30, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    There are a couple of ironies. The first Tricia mentioned since schools are to be totally Tobacco Free. Next is that we are rehabilitating inmates by having them pick an addictive (although legal) substance that is a gateway drug for students who if they try it may lead to them trying m.j. which is another gateway drug to more illicit drugs which will wind these students in the exact same spot said inmates are currently trying to get out of. Additionally, you are at a cross country track meet, an event that has been designed to promote health and welfare of students, but if they used this product would be unable to participate due to lack of lung function and future emphysema.

    Hope that is enough irony for the day 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Lauren  |  October 30, 2008 at 7:08 pm

    i was gonna say tobacco… i would recognize those leaves anywhere, though they do look like they could use some water!

    and no, the irony isn’t lost on me!

    Reply
  • 4. gretchen owens  |  November 1, 2008 at 3:59 am

    love the photo of alden and tim…it is perfect!

    i’m sure powell was a great larry the cucumber…how fun!

    sorry, i’m late for the contest…but hilarious irony!

    g

    Reply
  • 5. DeAnna  |  November 1, 2008 at 4:25 am

    Yay for tobacco leaves!! You know back in the day tobacco was the leading source for income. It helped build this great country. Hmmmmm which has me thinking, maybe we should go back to growing more tobacco leaves, get back to basics…………….. LOL!

    Reply
  • 6. DeAnna  |  November 1, 2008 at 4:25 am

    And btw- When did Alden get so big???? WTF??????? And his teeth rock!!!! Nice grin dude!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,662 hits

