I think…

October 27, 2008 at 5:47 pm 3 comments

….I have been busier than I realize.  With staying at home and the mostly mundane tasks that includes it can sometimes seem (to myself) like I do nothing.  But going through my pictures from last week I am realizing I did more than I realized….and I did things that mattered.  I’m not talking about the cleaning, the cooking, the errand running, the homework helping, the mounds of laundry and ironing OR the appointment scheduling and shuttling (because it is a given that all of that matters hugely).  I’m talking about the stuff that is a little more fun and a little more memorable ( or least it should be ).  Here is a glimpse at some of my overlooked things from last week.

It started on the weekend when we did Fondue Night with the kids for dessert.  OH, and the fact that I taught myself how to use Mosaic Maker which if you know me at all was a huge feat because I’m technically challenged. 

No, Kaitlynn didn’t fall asleep in the middle of Fondue Night.  Instead, she had Fondue Night taken away as a privilege but because we’re the mean parents on the block we made her sit at the table and watch everybody else participating.  Trust me, this was a necessary process in her young life and she didn’t remain in this position the entire time.

Over the course of the week I made this little pouch:

Now I had no illusions that this was the best pouch ever but I thought it was cute and I made it to hold a gift card.  Said gift card was purchased for Powell to give as a birthday present at his first girl/boy party.  They were going to have a bonfire and a hayride and I was really excited for him.  I thought any self-respecting 12-year old girl would enjoy this pouch.  Apparently, any self-respecting 12-year old boy won’t be caught dead holding it so it remains on my desk and she received her gift card in the complimentary envelope Target provides.

(sigh)

I then decided I wanted to move on and get the challenge for the month done and scrapbook.  That is when I noticed a stack of photos from summer that I hadn’t done anything with.  So, I pulled out my Summer 2008 box and finished it up.  Geesh!  It was a lot of work and I didn’t even gussey anything up but it got all of summer, 2008 organized and documented so I’m very happy about that.  I did it quick, I did it without worrying about “Scrapping”….I saved my favorite pictures for layouts and used all the others for this.

I know, right?  It was a lot of work and here I thought I didn’t do anything all week!  OK, what next?  Oh yes, my layout for the Elsie Box Challenge.  Done!

This week I’m going to figure out how to edit my pictures better.  Elizabeth Kartchner had some good tips in this month’s Creating Keepsakes that I’m going to try and figure out.  Also over the week I stripped and painted my dresser from college to give to Kaitlynn.  It turned out decently, it’s old so it couldn’t turn out great but she loves it and it holds soooo much and has made mornings much easier.  During that process I had to empty out the drawers and I found this:

It was an old paper airplane kit that I bought at the Nut Tree when we still lived in California.  At the time the boys were too young for it but now, it was the perfect way to fill an afternoon.  All three loved it and it made some really cools planes…..oh, and blow torch masks.

We are also are working on a 1500 piece puzzle that is driving us all a little nuts but oh-so-much fun.  I don’t have any pictures of that yet.  All of the other fun things I did like play baseball (I actually hit it!  That was amazing because as a child, I was so painfully shy that I could never hit the ball because I was too mortified that everyone was looking at me when I was up to bat.  It was groundbreaking for me to hit that ball and hear everyone scream in shock and awe) and take my daughter and her friend to High School Musical 3 can wait for another post.  This was my project post, after all.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

As promised… I came home…

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tricia Wilson  |  October 27, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    Wow busy girl, I need a nap after reading all of that! I like you summer box, that is a great idea and looks really cute. I love that pouch too. I am sure the little girl would have loved it, but alas, boys will be boys.

    Reply
  • 2. DeAnna  |  October 28, 2008 at 5:35 am

    I love the pouch! And I totally understand about him not taking it. Read my blog post! LOL!! Cute summer box. That is a great idea. You had a great week. Sounds like fun!

    Reply
  • 3. Jen  |  October 28, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    you have been a busy little bee! much like Tricia…what is she talking about needing a nap??!!
    i am sure one of your scrappy girl friends would greatly appreciate and admire your little pouch! or your own little girl!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,662 hits

