As promised…

October 24, 2008 at 2:00 pm 3 comments

….an explanation or two on why this might possibly be the best banana bread in the entire world:

Is it because:

  • my daughter smiles her biggest smile, scoots her little bum and moans when she sees I’ve made it?
  • is it the unexpected little flecks of coconut that are almost unrecognizable and yet so wonderful?
  • is it that when my husband got home from work at 1 AM in the  morning after working a double shift the house still smelled SO good that he HAD to go into the kitchen like a little mouse, devour two pieces and then got into bed and muttered to my sleepy little self, “That banana bread is so darn good.”  It made me smile in my half-groggy state that even when he gets home at 1 AM I am still welcoming him in some small way.
  • is is that I don’t have to wonder what is for breakfast the next day?

It could be any number of those things but I’ll tell you what I really think caps it all off right after I give you the recipe.  It’s from Martha’s Baking Handbook….a book I think should be a staple in any household’s kitchen.  Wonderful recipes…some you may never use and others you will consistently use for the rest of your life (like the star of this post, banana bread).

3 cups flour                            1 1/2 cups ripe mashed banana (about three)

1 teaspoon baking soda         1 cup unsweetened shredded coconut

3/4 teaspoon salt                   1 cup walnuts toasted and chopped (toast them!)

3 large eggs                            1/2 cup buttermilk (make your own by adding lemon

2 cups sugar                                     to regular milk)

1 1/3 cups vegetable oil         2 T vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350.  Coat two 9×5 inch loaf pans with cooking spray; set aside.

Beat eggs, sugar and oil until combined.  Beat in flour, soda, salt.  Add the vanilla, banana, coconut, nuts and buttermilk until combined. (I add my bananas whole because I have found the beating “mashes” them for  me and it saves a step).

Divide the batter equally among the pans.  Bake for 60-65 minutes. 

OK, so there you have it, the ability to make the world’s best banana bread.  If you read the recipe (and lets face it, who really read that at this point in the game) then you saw what the cherry on the sundae is to this recipe.  It’s the fact that it makes TWO loaves so just when you’re feeling like you should hold off and save your banana bread, you get to dig in because there is another loaf just waiting for you.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I thought about… I think…

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. DeAnna  |  October 24, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    I am going to try that recipe. I have another one that I have been using and it is good but I like the coconut ingredient. Also, what I do instead of nuts, I put in chocolate chips. 🙂 It is so good! The boys get excited when I make banana bread!!

    Reply
  • 2. Jen  |  October 24, 2008 at 6:32 pm

    there you go again…taunting us with your wondrous baking skills! and the recipe to boot!
    what a woman!!!
    i like what you said about it being a small way to welcome home your hubby, even @ 1am.
    that was really sweet. i need to remember small little welcomes like that.

    Reply
  • 3. Tricia Wilson  |  October 25, 2008 at 12:03 am

    Yummy!!!!! Thanks for sharing the recipe. I am definitely going to try this one out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,662 hits

