One of the….

September 1, 2008 at 2:25 pm 6 comments

….things I did while my family was visiting in July was have the opportunity to spend some time with this girl:

Let me just tell you, she is delicious.  I kept threatening to keep her here and not let her on the plane.  I think she thought I was kidding.  But seriously, if I thought I could have gotten away with it I would have chained her to my house and never let her leave.  It is Madeline, my niece.  She’s smart and brave and sweet and helpful and giving and I just love her to pieces.  One night she stayed with another girl and babysat her three brothers, my three children and two of my cousin’s children.  When I tried to pay her she said, “You’re not paying me to watch my brothers and my cousins.”  Seriously?  What teenage girl says that?  Again, I say delicious.

One afternoon we worked on these shirts.  I love them.  I saw one in a store and wanted to buy it but they were asking for $29!!  I knew I could make it myself.  We ended up making six shirts for under $40.  A bargain if you ask me.

Here is Madeline helping my little Kati-cat:

So here is what we came up with for each person:

  • Mine said “Bee Grateful”
  • Julie’s said “Bee Good” (because she has four children and we thought it was funny)
  • Jennifer’s said “Bee Yourself” (because she’s a teacher and it’s so her style)
  • Kaitlynn’s said “Let it Bee” (because she has a hard time letting go of things sometimes)
  • Dorene’s said “Queen Bee” (because she’s the grandma)
  • Madeline’s said “Bee Brave” (because a steer threw her flying through the air and smashing into a fence causing a full body CT scan, stitches in the face and many other bruises and the very next day she went back to the steer)

So…..what would your shirt say?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

This should not… It comes around every year…

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tricia Wilson  |  September 1, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    Very cute! I am not sure what my shirt would say? Probably “Just bee”.

    Reply
  • 2. Cinnibonbon  |  September 1, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    Saw you on SIS. Fabulous t-shirts. Thanks for sharing.
    BTW…I love high heels …a whole lot…BUT I am not one of those crazy that would ever wear them to an amusement park!!! LOL.
    I was once on Diamond Head in Hawaii and don’t you believe I saw chicks climbing that volacno in heels!! Cracks me up. I’m glad I’m not the only one..who thinks its crazy.

    Reply
  • 3. gretchen  |  September 1, 2008 at 11:03 pm

    those shirts are SO very cool! i want to make one. mine would say….

    Bee Fun or Bee Confident or Bee Real…

    Reply
  • 4. kent  |  September 1, 2008 at 11:56 pm

    Those shirts are bee-utiful!!

    Reply
  • 5. DeAnna  |  September 2, 2008 at 3:23 am

    That first pic of your niece is angelic. What a sweet thing. Hmmmm, what would my shirt say?
    Bee-all you can be! LOL!!

    Reply
  • 6. Jen  |  September 2, 2008 at 11:46 am

    what cool shirts!!!
    i don’t know what mine would say…probably, Just Be.
    we have a close friend of the family that is just the same as this girl as you describe.
    we love her to pieces as well!!
    you can just see God’s light illuminating through her eyes and smile. it is truly a blessing when God places young people or, anyone for that matter, in your life!!!
    thanks for sharing!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,660 hits

