Let’s just start….

July 22, 2008 at 1:22 pm 10 comments

…with this picture.  When I saw her I thought, “Well there’s a look” and I knew it was a scrapbook page.

OK, so I promised pictures of the new dining room.  Prepare yourself because it’s a HUGE change and it definitely is better in person than in pictures.  I started with a very traditional, dark toned room.  The window treatments were from the previous owner and I HATED them….the red and yellow was OK but so not Jill.

 

So, I took my very limited budget and went to work!  Now to some people, they would NEVER paint over this wood.  Let me justify my actions.  The table is not this wonderful piece of furniture, it’s a factory made piece of furniture stained really well.  I have been looking at said table and chairs for nearly 14 years and am just plain tired of them.  I really wanted to go light and airy in the room so I went to my garage and started thinking.  I had the goal of re-purposing and using as much as I could that I already had.  Here is how I did it for under $50 (I was under $40 and then I had to buy a second set of curtain rings):

  • the curtains are an old shower curtain that I loved but that shrunk too short to be used as a shower curtain
  • the paint is all paint I already had in my garage
  • the frames are frames I had in my craft closet….I just sprayed them with, yes, spray paint I already had
  • the fabric I re-covered the chair seats with was purchased at Wal-mart for $1 a yard
  • In the end I bought 2 curtain rods, 2 sets of rings, 1 paint roller, $3 worth of fabric and 1 package of staples for my dad’s staple gun

So there it is.  I guess you’ll either hate it or love it but I love it!  I still need some things for the walls and some finishing touches but for $44.16 I’m pretty happy!  Now to decide what color I REALLY want my scrapbook room accent wall to be….

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

A post on… Off…

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. fran  |  July 22, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    first off, how cute is that girl of yours…seriously!

    and finally, you know how I appreciate a cheap redo! go you!!!!! it looks great! i have been wanting to do that to my table and chairs too……you have inspired me….now I have to pick a color!
    Great job!

    Reply
  • 2. gretchen  |  July 22, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    love it, love it…the art & curtain looks great…totally finishes the room off. and you know how i LOVE that TABLE!

    Reply
  • 3. patty  |  July 22, 2008 at 3:38 pm

    Love the color you chose for the table and seats, its so airy and gorgeous:)

    Reply
  • 4. Tricia Wilson  |  July 22, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    Great job! It came out lovely. You are very resourceful. The make over made a dramatic difference for that room, WOW!

    Reply
  • 5. merryheart2  |  July 22, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    What a dramatic change for under 50 dollars.
    HaHa…sounds like a HGTV show.
    Great job! Love the color of the table and chairs. Great way to use the shower curtain.
    Sandra

    Reply
  • 6. Lori Borntreger  |  July 22, 2008 at 7:37 pm

    OMG, for under 50 $$$ Girl, you are good and your room turned out gorgeous!!

    Reply
  • 7. shalay  |  July 23, 2008 at 5:37 am

    Are you serious? This is incredible! And for only $50! This is going to be my inspiration for when I wanna redecorate while on a budget. : )

    Reply
  • 8. DeAnna  |  July 23, 2008 at 6:02 am

    WOW!

    Wow!!!

    That room is bee-u-tiful!!!! Great job Miss design on a dime! You rock. I can’t believe how pretty and airy it looks. What does Tim think?

    Reply
  • 9. Chelle  |  July 24, 2008 at 4:03 am

    OH WOW!!! Please come help me make my house cute. I’m so clueless when it comes to decorating my house.

    Reply
  • 10. xin  |  August 3, 2008 at 6:50 am

    I love what you did with the table and chairs!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,660 hits

