Ever heard of ….

July 10, 2008 at 7:05 pm 4 comments

….sticking your neck out there?  Well let me tell you, turtles do not stick their neck out there for anything or anyone.  I don’t think I would want to live a turtle’s life.  I do have to say however, I had quite the fun time this morning….watching a turtle.  Last year Kodiak got a turtle….we saved the turtle and he lived a good life in our neighbor’s pond.  This morning when I let Kodiak in from the backyard he brought me another turtle (little thing was upside down,…it didn’t stand a chance of getting right-side up without some intervention).  Poor little thing was all bloody around the rim of his shell because Kodiak apparently mistook it for a rawhide (I’m showing you the less bloody view in case you’re squeamish).

Little turtle was moved to the front yard and put into one of our garden beds.  Alden, Kaitlynn and I sat down for a while to see if it would come out of it’s shell….to see if it would live.  Eventually the kids took off to go to the dump with Tim but not until I promised to stay on the porch and get a picture once the turtle stuck it’s neck out (remember what I said about turtles and necks?).  I waited.  I was so patient.  I weeded a little, I sat a lot and I realized that it was nice to just sit on my porch in the cool of the morning and listen to the birds and the bugs.  It was quiet.  It was good. 

Then it got better.

Did you know that our family has a thing about foxes?  We love them.  There are a few that live around us and from time to time you see them and it’s just magical to us.  There is something about them.  Well, while I was on turtle duty I noticed what at first I thought was a dog walking across my front lawn, not ten feet away from me.  Check it out:

Isn’t he gorgeous?  Love him.

Anyway, after going in and out and in and out this was the best I could do for the turtle shot.

So then I took off for errands of my own.  By then the kids were back home and I left them happily sitting on the front porch watching the turtle.  Check out what Alden got….I guess the turtle knows Alden is worth sticking your neck out for.

And finally heading off for greener bushes…

It feels good to be a turtle rescuer.  It is amazing though….baby birds, tadpoles, bullfrogs, regular frogs, foxes, turtles and unseen racoons, bats and opossums….our outside animals finally out number our indoor animals.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Ribbit…. A post on…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. gretchen  |  July 10, 2008 at 8:11 pm

    wow…that fox is amazing…i would die if i saw that…good job with getting the photo!

    Reply
  • 2. DeAnna  |  July 11, 2008 at 5:45 am

    You guys are silly. But you make me laugh.

    Reply
  • 3. Jen  |  July 11, 2008 at 11:37 pm

    yeah…great job with the photo!
    it is like Wild Kingdom @ your house, eh?!
    let’s see…to answer you…
    dig deeper is a kit club offered by kate o’brien and michelle sanders. there is a link to the right on my blog.
    right now they are selling out, so you have to e-mail them for a sign-up for, i think, sept’s kit at this point! crazy good for them!!!!
    i would love to get the elsie thing going. is tricis back from camping yet?
    i will look over it this weekend!
    yikes, this was more like an e-mail…sorry.

    Reply
  • 4. Tricia Wilson  |  July 13, 2008 at 2:00 am

    I am going to start calling you Jill Doolittle! That fox is super duper cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,661 hits

