Bumps, bumps…

June 21, 2008 at 3:33 am 6 comments

…and more bumps.  It was a week of bumps.  Some were hysterical and one was not so hysterical but bumpy nonetheless.  : )  Curious?

Let’s start with the not-so-funny first.  That way we can end with what I consider to be the funny one.  My boy.  My turns-12-on-Monday boy.  Powell.  You’ve got to love this kid because he takes things in such stride.  Like when he came home from camping a few weeks ago he had four tics.  Yep, four of them.  But he was so calm about it and had a sense of humor through the whole thing.  It was important because what is worse than four tics on your body?  Three were in the nether-regions.  Yep.  He was a trooper though and let me say for all of cyber-world to hear: peanut butter.  Use peanut butter when you get a tic.  It smothers them, makes them pop their head out and then you can just wipe the little sucker (no pun intended) off.  Worked like a charm.  But those didn’t leave him with bumps.  this week he had a nice BIG lump at the base of his skull.  Just like the one Tim had when we found out he had leukemia.  Ah yes, good times.  But we’ve had a blood test and he sits at a healthy 6.7 white blood cell count which was music to my mommy ears.  Chances are, his body didn’t like the tics or the puberty that is crashing upon him so he’s got a swollen lymph node.  So, that takes care of bump #1.

Now for the 65 other bumps this week (if you don’t count the one that happened when Tim ran over some guy’s low-boy trailer at the gas station).  This little girl went to the ENT a few weeks ago.  it went something like this:

Me: I’ve had allergies all my life and I’m just sick of living this way.  Could you check and see if something is blocking my sinuses?

Doc: Sure, look here on your CT scan.  You’ve got a deviated septum and some major swelling; looks like it’s been there for years.  Let’s see if we can treat it and avoid surgery.  First, let’s find out what you’re allergic to.

So off I went to the allergist.  I was informed that they would “scratch”…more like a prick….my back with 73 different (no folks, not a type-o) allergens to determine what my body is allergic to.  After said “scratches” I would sit for 15 minutes and then they would read the results and clean my back.  Meanwhile, no scratching.

(1/3 of the way through the tech ‘scratching’ me):

Tech #1: Wow, you’re reacting already.

Tech#2: She sure is, look at that.

(2/3 of the way through):

Tech #2: That is amazing…look at that.

(all scratches done):

Tech #2: We’ll check back on you.  It’s amazing how quickly you’re reacting.

(2 minutes later)

Tech #1: Did you scratch your back?

Me:  No, you told me not to.

Tech #1: Are you sure?

Me:  I’m sure.  I’d be feeling MUCH better had I scratched my back.

Tech #1:  Tech #2 could you come here?

Tech #2:  Wow, did you scratch your back?

Me: NO, you told me NOT to scratch my back.  I didn’t scratch my back.

Tech #2: OK, we’ll be back in a few minutes; I don’t think we’ll have you go the whole fifteen minutes.

(2 minutes later they come in and begin counting and grading each reaction.  I’m told my reactions are off the chart…most are measured on a 2 number scale and my numbers are off the scales.)

Me:  So is that pretty common?

Tech #1: No, otherwise they would change the scale.

Me:  Oh, right.  So, how many of the 73 did I react to?

Tech #1: 65.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

These have been… What a….

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Chelle  |  June 21, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    Oh my goodness! What are you NOT allergic to?

    Reply
  • 2. Tricia Wilson  |  June 21, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    Wow, so your allergic to practically everything huh? That’s crazy!!!!! Hopefully they will be able to help you out now that they know what your allergic to.

    Reply
  • 3. gretchenowens  |  June 23, 2008 at 4:09 am

    i am so glad Powell is okay…great post..love the bumps title!

    Reply
  • 4. fran  |  June 23, 2008 at 5:27 pm

    good gracious…..after that go soak in a bubble bath….good night…..

    Reply
  • 5. FolsomJen  |  June 24, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    YIKES!!! Sounds like you need to move back to California!! 🙂 Glad to hear everything is ok with Powell.

    Reply
  • 6. DeAnna  |  June 25, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    That blog made me laugh!! Especially with Tim’s running over the trailer at the gas station. That would happen to me!! Okay, can you scary about Powell?? I am glad everything is good though. 65 allergies??? We always said you are a odd duck. Heeheeee.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,662 hits

