Yes, it’s true…

June 4, 2008 at 6:39 pm 7 comments

…I have majorly slacked on getting this blog updated!  So settle in for a long one (probably).  I hate to say, “I’ve been so busy I just couldn’t post” because that makes it sound like I’ve been so busy in a bad way.  While it’s true that I have been so busy, it’s been a good busy.  The kids are having SO MUCH fun so far this summer.  They have been letting me get my work done without chaos all around me and we’ve been having a blast going swimming, working in the yard, watching the new clutch of babies in the birdhouse and many other things!

I will start with a disclaimer: we got a new computer.  Yes, the nearly ten year old computer has been replaced!  It’s nice to have done it without HAVING to do it because that means we are a two-computer household now; a very nice luxury with five computer users and one who works (on a computer) from home.  Well, on said computer, I now have Photoshop!  I know….I can hardly stand it myself.  So while the following photos of my kids in the pool (proving the fun and my improving photography skills) may not be all “photoshopped” out….hang on, it’s coming….at some point in the near future I WILL master the photoshop (meanwhile just the redeye removal tool is driving me nuts….so don’t tell me about Floyd’s “blue” eyes later; I know!).

OK, so on with the fun!  Here are some of the kids in the backyard (seriously, how much fun is this little girl having):

Then there is always playing with your brothers:

Or watching them try to surf in a pool…

   

And then again there is just looking at your brother and realizing how much fun you’re all having (plus I knew Tricia would appreciate this picture)…

But our time out at the pool isn’t limited to just the kids entertaining me.  No, no, there are the dogs.  Never underestimate the entertainment they can provide you with.  First of all, there is Floyd.  Poor little groomed Floyd who takes days to get used to after a visit to the groomer…

And then there is this pain in the neck (literally) who consistently tries to get the old girl to play with him…

But this, THIS does my heart good (old girl still has it….NEVER question who the Alpha Dog is!_….

  

But before you report me to the ASPCA, I promise, we don’t let our dogs be mean and fight (oh, and give them embarrassing haircuts)….they are PLAYING, see just seconds later…they’re friends:

So now for some grown-up, adult, human humor.  Here is Tim, waiting for the IRS Stimulus check to arrive:

No, no, not really.  We needed a new toilet.  Seems toilets that are over twenty years old don’t work so hot after all that time.  So we got this wonderful new toilet that doesn’t allow the lid to be slammed and finishes it’s thing in like a 1/4 of the time it used to take.  Ahhhh…..it’s also environmentally sound because I paid attention to that.  Tim just thought it would be funny to read a magazine out in the front yard sitting on the toilet.  Yes, I married him.

Have you seen this book?

I’m baking a TON out of it right now…yet another reason the kids and I are having such a fun summer.  Anyway, people who come by the house are signing their names on the pages that have cookies they want to taste.  That way, when I bake that recipe I can make sure they get some.  So if you live nearby you need to stop by and do it!  If you don’t live nearby and you can get your hands one or see it in a bookstore, tell me what cookies you think look best and I just may mail them to you (and no Tricia and DeAnna…you can’t just say, “any of them”) but you have to be specific!

One last thing, I’m going to out myself.  I am putting it out there for the world to know because that is how committed I am.  I am riding in the Livestrong Challenge in Austin in October.  A 90-mile bike ride.  I’m super excited and having been training now for about three weeks.  It’s been tough but I know I can do it and I am so excited to ride in honor of the lung I lost, the leukemia Tim beat and the colon my mother still has!  Now I’m off…I’m hoping to sand down a table and paint it today…oh, an a mirror too! 

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Ready….. These have been…

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. elizabeth  |  June 4, 2008 at 8:26 pm

    oh it sounds like you guys are having a blast!
    love the pic of your hubby!!!

    so the martha book is good eh? i’ve been contemplating getting it.

    hugs

    {elizabeth} on sis 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Tricia  |  June 4, 2008 at 9:42 pm

    Love those pics of Powell and Tim. You soooo gotta do a “potty page”! Yeah, I was going to say put my name on every single page, but you know me too well. If you get the urge to send something just send whatever you like. I like surprises! :0)
    Dude, photoshop? Woo Hoo. Welcome my friend to a new frontier.

    Reply
  • 3. DeAnna  |  June 5, 2008 at 5:47 pm

    You are a freak. You know that right?!! Okay, cookies, I want gingersnap/molasses cookies. MMMMMMM and while you are at it, make me some biscotti woman!! ;-)~

    Tim is a dork, your kids are adorable, your backyard looks lovely, Floyd looks like a demon and Katura is as cute as ever.

    Happy Summer! Good luck with photoshop it is hard! Kind of like the sewing machine drama for me.

    BTW- Can I just say the calzones rocked???? Oh My Goodness. They were yummay. Thanks for the recipe, we had a blast making them, we went to the italian deli got some italian sausage, italian pepperoni and fresh mozarella. To.die.for.

    Reply
  • 4. fran  |  June 6, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    Jill I am so glad you are enjoying your break (and work isn’t getting in the way)

    I am so excited for you photoshop will change your world!!!!

    Reply
  • 5. gretchen  |  June 8, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    i am SO glad you got photoshop….i can’t wait to help you play! the picture of tim is hilarious…you’ve got to scrap that for sure!

    i’m glad you told everyone about your biking…now it’s FOR REAL!

    Reply
  • 6. fran  |  June 9, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    uhhh, I just re-read this….you are going on a 90 mile bike ride……….

    good for you! but are you insane?

    Reply
  • 7. Jen  |  June 10, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    wow! so much! ok…a pool is a blessing with kids…wish i had one! so much fun to be had!
    and you with your baking..go, go ,go!
    and what a great thing to do with that ride in October!! so much to be thankful for and i am so happy 🙂 you are having such a blast this summer!! have fun @ the Sisiversary too!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,661 hits

