Ready…..

May 23, 2008 at 8:32 pm 7 comments

…..BREAK!  Summer break, that is.  It has only been two days so far but it is in full swing around this joint.  The swimming, the ice cream, the lazy days (well lazy for the kids but mine are coming…still getting organized to some degree): it has been wonderful.  Let’s start at the very beginning.

Wednesday was their last day of school and they requested one thing, one…homemade ice cream to celebrate with.  So out came the ice cream maker and in went all the ingredients for their favorite, cookies and cream.  My cookies and cream always ends up looking like chocolate cookies and cream but it isn’t, it’s vanilla.  Nevertheless, it tastes wonderful…here is the already half-eaten proof:

After a great worship service at church on Wednesday night you could tell that all the parents were relishing the first night of Summer break; no one was in a rush to get out the door.  We all stood around chatting and watching the kids play kickball on the grass.  I’m usually so quick out the door to get everyone tucked in that it was a real treat to linger.  The kids thought it was fun too when they got home and didn’t have to run up the stairs but instead got ot have a big cone of ice cream out in the backyard with all the tiki torches lit.

Then, just because I’m crazy and was really in the mood I made an apple pie.  It had been a while since I made one and I was thinking about it all the time so I went ahead and made one on Tuesday night.  There is still one more BIG slice left:

OK, so that day was particulary crazy for cooking because I also made calzones for dinner.  Again, we all love them and Tim got me a brand new bread maker for Mother’s Day that I had to break in.  OK, let me justify this now.  When we were engaged, breadmakers just came out and I wanted one so badly but I was a pre-school director and made a very little amount of money so a breadmaker was not in my budget.  For Mother’s Day that year, Tim got me a breadmaker.  When I explained that I wasn’t a mother he said, “Well you will be one day, and you’ll be my children’s mother so here’s a breadmaker.  Just say ‘thank you.’ ” : )  Well fourteen years later my beloved breadmaker sounded like a wild raccoon in heat so I had to send it to the breadmaker graveyard.  Hence, a seemingly terrible Mother’s Day present for him to give me and yet romantic and reminiscent in reality.  So, here is the beautiful evidence of my love for breadmakers:

OK, so now that I’ve gained five pounds from all my cravings….

The first day of summer break was spent swimming (they’re crazy because the water is only 74 degrees), riding bikes and playing Rock Band.  After a visit to Poppa and Nonna’s to feed the ducks we took the kids to Kabuto for dinner.  They had never been so the knife juggling, fire rising and throwing of food was very interesting to them; they loved it.  They also loved that Taylor Swift was there when we were…she was a very sweet girl.   Look what I found in my garden when I got home and did some weeding:

Aren’t they beautiful?  They remind me of the tissue ones I made a couple of weeks ago.  They are also a dream come true to some degree.  When we lived in California I dreamed of living in a climate where peonies would grow.  Now I have my own bush in the backyard.  Dorene gave it to me as a housewarming gift when we got here and each year as it has grown it has yielded twice as many blooms as the year before. 

Yep, I love summer break.  I love that there is no homework, bedtime is more flexible and there is time to piddle.  Yep, we’ve got a ton going on and we’ll be adequately busy but what’s better than those days when you just wander inside and outside all day long, you find a new project to work on or decide to make popsicles out of orange juice?  Alden woke up and decided he wanted to whiddle and since he didn’t have school he got to just go outside and enjoy himself; how great is that?

So, maybe not the most exciting post in the world but that is what we’re up to around here.  What are you doing?

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Just a little… Yes, it’s true…

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jen  |  May 23, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    and YOU think I am CRAZY!!! all that yummy food is making me drool…and i just had dinner! wow! pie and ice cream! wish my kids were done :(…8 more days for us…ugh!
    dreaming of summer break and hoping it won’t fly by!
    enjoy your kids and your summer!
    btw..what is your last name?

    Reply
  • 2. Tricia  |  May 24, 2008 at 3:23 am

    Yay for summer. I relish the lazy days of summer. Only 5 1/2 days left for us. The food looks delish!!

    Reply
  • 3. gretchen  |  May 26, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    that food looks incredible…you are such a good mom! i love peonies, too…

    they are crazy swimming in the 74 degree pool….you won’t see me over there until it is well above 80 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. fran  |  May 29, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    Okay can I have some ice cream, apple pie and then a large calzone while sitting on your back deck with a bouquet of peonies……I love this post….

    Reply
  • 5. fran  |  May 29, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    oh and I would like Alden to whiddle me a snake….just for fun! 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. DeAnna  |  June 1, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    Hey you, Will you by chance email me your Calzone recipe? The boys get out of school this week and I want to do Celebration dinner of Jill’s Calzones!! Yes, I am going to copy you!! Thanks, you are a peach! BTW- I just planted my Peony plan, however, I bought the plant weeks ago and kept forgetting to put it in the gound, so I didn’t copy you on that one!

    Reply
  • 7. Tricia  |  June 2, 2008 at 12:16 am

    Dude, you must be high on crack. I have a picture of my grandma when she was 18 in my hallway and another when she was around 15 on the same shelf. Been there for years! Did you mean an current pic? Cuz I know you’ve seen the ones in the hallway silly!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,662 hits

