Just a little…

May 19, 2008 at 2:14 pm 4 comments

…update.  I felt like I needed to get some positive reinforcement because I finally spent some time scrapbooking!  Yes folks, I broke out all the unfinished projects from the Scrap Etc. event and got to work!  Most of them I tried to take my own little slant on.  Although it wasn’t a completely creative process, it does feel really good to have them done and be able to move on to other projects and ideas.  I stayed up until 2 AM on Friday night doing this, amazing if you know anything about me; I’m a 10:00 girl.

I think I stayed up late scrapping in an effort to work a few things out in my head.  I have only been truly misunderstood once in my life until this past week.  Now, count two times.  It was confusing and very hurtful but I am beginning to find it’s place in my spirit and make peace with the jumbled up emotions it stirs within me.  There isn’t too much more about that I want to say here other than to express gratitude that I have a hobby that allows me to be in my head and figure things out.

We’ve been pretty busy around here planning how we will spend our summer.  The kids’ last day of school is Wednesday and boy do we have a great summer planned!  Both of my sisters and their clans will be coming for a visit (at the same time) which will be fabulous.  The kids have so much fun playing with their cousins and now that there is a pool in our backyard, well, it’ll be non-stop I’m sure.  We are taking a trip to the beach early on in the summer and then heading out to Disneyworld at the end of summer.  What else?  Powell has like three tips with church, Alden has two and Kaitlynn has one.  We’ve made standing weekly playdates with friends, planned some art projects, cookie making and so much more!  The last two summers the kids learned how to cook different things.  This summer, they’re going to learn how to care for a garden; they are so excited.  They’ve each been given a plot of land to care for.  This weekend we cleared it all out and got the soil ready for planting.  We have gone through books and the internet picking which plants they like, etc.  Kaitlynn has chosen sunflowers and generally very happy looking flowers.  The boys can’t decide.  They like the idea of plants/flowers because they’ll be around forever (perennials) but they also like the idea of some food crops.  On Thursday they will decide because we’ll go shopping and get them in the ground.  So fun. 

Well, that is my little update.  I’m off now to get some things at the store; the kids asked for homemade cookies and cream ice cream for their dessert the night of the last day of school.  It seemed an appropriate way to start the summer so of course I agreed!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Yes folks… Ready…..

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. gretchen  |  May 19, 2008 at 8:31 pm

    you are the best mom!

    love that summer is so packed for fun for everyone…those are the best kind!

    jeff will be proud to know that they are each going to their own garden…how fun!

    Reply
  • 2. Tricia  |  May 20, 2008 at 2:35 am

    Great job on finishing up unfinished business! ;0)

    Sounds like a super fun summer. The only thing I can think that would make it any better would be a trip to Cali!
    Tricia

    Reply
  • 3. DeAnna  |  May 20, 2008 at 3:58 am

    Ummm, I have no words to say. Your summer is full! Wow. Hmmmm so far I have planned ummmmm let’s see, not a damn thing! Yikes!

    Reply
  • 4. Chelle  |  May 24, 2008 at 3:57 am

    OMGsh! That looks delicious!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,661 hits

