Going deep…

May 9, 2008 at 9:58 pm 4 comments

….this time so hang on.  I’ve just really been thinking about this.  Wednesday night’s lesson at church was soooooo good.  Seriously in the top five I’ve ever heard.  It has started me thinking about many (it was THAT good) different things but the one I want to write about is LOVE.

Most of us have heard or read what the Bible says about love:

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.

I think those of us that are seeking God’s heart know that love is very important to Him.  He even says: “and now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.”  Are you seeing what I’m saying here?  In thinking about all of this I began to think about how really rather flippant my attitude has been about love.  I’ve known for quite some time that love is not about romance and emotions; Tim’s cancer taught me a lot about true love and I am so grateful we learned it at a young age.  However, I don’t think I ever really thought about how my actions and attitudes can reflect the love God has called me to (or even the fact that I am called to love in a specific way); about the fact that if I am truly motivated by love in all my actions then I can truly do no harm.  How about this one?  The Bible tells us that God is love.  If God is love and all the things mentioned above  are attributed to love then isn’t God all those things?  If so, why do we think He won’t be forgiving or patient with us?  OK, OK, so I told you I was going deep here.

All of this to say that I am personally making an effort to check my motivations, behavior and attitude to what God says about love.  If the greatest is love then I NEED TO PAY MORE ATTENTION to it and begin to love to the very best of my ability.  In order to do that, I must test myself against what the Bible says about love.  For example, the other day I was really upset with Tim (I can share this because we are all human and we all get upset with our husbands) and began to think it was all his fault and he needed to change.  At that moment I felt the Holy Spirit checking me: am I being patient?  Am I being kind?  Am I being easily angered?  I tell you people, it helped so much because the instant I saw where I could better my love for Tim in that moment and I released it, God turned the entire situation around and we were able to have an amazing, intimate conversation about the issue.

Now I’m not saying this challenge I’m taking on is going to be easy.  Believe me, the Tennessee drivers test my love for “my neighbors” on a daily basis.  But I’m not called just to love my family and friends; I’m called to love everyone.  I don’t intend to be a doormat (Bible doesn’t want me to be anyway) but I do intend to truly take a look at how I am demonstrating God’s perfect love to those around me.  I’m determined to really keep myself in check on this and am so excited to see what God will do with it!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

It’s days like today… Yes folks…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. DeAnna  |  May 10, 2008 at 2:37 pm

    Ummmmm, yeah, that is a challenge. WOWzers. Cool perspective, never really thought about it really. I think I have the same thought process on joy. The joy of the Lord is our strength. I have a hard time wrapping my mind around that so it leaves for good pondering! Good luck on your new adventure!

    Reply
  • 2. Tricia  |  May 10, 2008 at 4:52 pm

    That IS a big challenge. HUGE! I will have to sit and ponder on that one for awhile myself.

    Reply
  • 3. fran  |  May 12, 2008 at 11:27 am

    “If the greatest is love then I NEED TO PAY MORE ATTENTION to it and begin to love to the very best of my ability.”

    really love that!

    Reply
  • 4. gretchenowens  |  May 12, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    i echo what tricia says…that is a HUGE challenge. never heard it put that way, but there is so much insight in what you’ve said. thanks for opening our minds! you are REALLY good at that!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,661 hits

