If I could have…

April 22, 2008 at 4:11 pm 4 comments

…I would have posted pictures with this post.  But I can’t.  I am playing a bit of catch up this week and decided it was better to post something without pictures rather than nothing at all.  And besides, I really wanted to post about my wonderful week last week!

As you all know my girl, Tricia, came to visit me.  We started out on a Monday evening and pretty much didn’t stop until she left Sunday afternoon.  I was sooooo happy to see her.  There is a connection with her that I can’t describe but I just love her to bits and pieces and being able to see her and spend time with her and feel as though not a day went by without seeing her was wonderful.  Truly a blessing in my life.

The week was full of sunshine and flowers and happy children.  They loved seeing Tricia and had “forgotten how fun she is” as Alden put it yesterday.  We picked up Gretchen on Thursday morning to go to the Scrap Etc. event in Nashville.  What a good time.  Heidi Swapp, Jenni Bowlin, and so many more were there to teach and inspire.  So fun!  We laughed and giggled and created all while staying in the gorgeous Opryland Hotel.  So fun is that place and such a treat for tired mommies who needed a few days off.  We made lots of new friends but most especially this lovely lady, Jennifer.  What a treasure she is.  She braved a plane trip to attend the event and didn’t know anyone there…very impressive in my estimation.

I think the only damper on the whole week was that I worried about my sweet Keturah girl.  At nearly 12 years old she is years past typical rottie lifespan and she is beginning to show it.  I feel as though I’m in the middle of a long goodbye.  She still has a quality of life that enables her to enjoy her food, run in the yard for spurts and get excited over all the normal things but she is slowing down greatly.  She sleeps more.  She has little issues that are beginning to slow her down.  Tim and I talked about it again last night and we are not prepared to have her suffer one little bit.  She has been too good, too regal, too perfect a companion and family member to disrespect her in that way.  So for now we are happy that she is not in pain (although we are trying a round of painkillers to see if she improves…just in case she is hurting and we don’t know it) and will be with us for as long as God wills but the reality is setting in and we are beginning to brace ourselves for what we know will be inevitable.

OK, sorry, I didn’t mean to end on such a sad note.  Really, I didn’t.  It’s just what is there on my mind and you know me, I like to keep it real!  OK, lets see….a happy little something to end with…..hmmm….before Tricia left she left us little notes all over the house.  Lots and lots of little notes for us to discover as we go about our day.  Maybe THOSE are some pictures I can post next time!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I met Keith Urban… In the mood…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  April 22, 2008 at 10:27 pm

    Pictures from the event please…when you are recouperated. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Tricia  |  April 22, 2008 at 11:16 pm

    Yes, it was fun! Good to see you too after all this time. I am glad you are having fun finding all of your notes. You’ll have to keep them all to make sure you’ve gathered them all. A few of them are a little tricky!
    I found the note for Dave and the kids in my suitcase, but not one for me. Any hints on where I might find it?????

    Reply
  • 3. fran  |  April 24, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    I want to see those pics!!! I am so glad you had a good time and that Tricia was able to come for a visit! It must have really been tiring I haven’t heard much from either you or Gretchen 🙂

    Sorry about the doggie….really.

    Reply
  • 4. gretchenowens  |  May 12, 2008 at 6:05 pm

    It was a blast! Definitely tiring!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,660 hits

