Be prepared…

April 7, 2008 at 10:05 pm 6 comments

….for lots and lots of pictures with this post.  I can’t help it; there were just soooo many things that made me happy yesterday that I had to keep clicking pictures (sorry, Fran, I know Niki isn’t home yet).

So Sunday started like any ordinary Sunday and after church, lunch and a quick trip to Wal-mart we were all home and all out enjoying the first sunny day after inches and inches and inches and inches of rain we got last week.  We’ll start with that sunshine and why it makes me so happy.  Not only does the California girl in me LOVE the sunshine, but the Tennessee girl in me LOVES what the sunshine brings here.

First, there is this:

This just makes me very happy because I know that every year, a momma bird comes along and goes through three rounds of eggs in this (which is inside the house):

She lets us lift up the door and look.  They are the most beautiful blue, tiny little eggs you’ve ever seen and it makes us so happy to follow along in her progress and see the little babies once they’re hatched.  Of the six or so clutches that she’s had, she has only lost one baby.  She’s a good momma.

I also love that I know how many other birds are on their way to us.  We’ve been filling the feeders and preparing all their resting places.  We love them.  I think we counted 19 different varieties of birds in our yard last summer.  It’s amazing.  We love them and there is nothing better than waking up to the sound of their singing or hearing one of the woodpeckers pecking away and have you ever heard a mockingbird?  They’re hilarious and they trip me out everytime I’m in my garden and they decide to catcall me.

This also makes me happy:

See those little buds?  Not only are those the promise of the lushness of Tennessee coming to us full-speed but it is also the beginning of the most beautiful dogwood tree ever.  It lives in our front yard and right outside Powell’s bedroom windows.  It’s gorgeous.  It will be a big cloud of white for about two weeks and everytime I see it, from the house or as I turn onto my street, it will make me smile.  It’s a childhood memory in the making for Powell and I love it.  Here are more of the promises I am watching:

Here are some of the promises that are already shouting their arrival:

Now for the not-so-tree-hugging people out there.  Yesterday, the bikes came back out.  It was a great afternoon of bike riding and skating in the front.  Powell went around and around for hours just feeling the bike move him forward.  He reminded me of myself as a child and how I could ride a bike forever, oblivious to the world around me.  When he did stop, he tried his best to give me a tough-guy look.  What do you think?

Nah, I didn’t buy it either.  But how about this for a tough guy, it doesn’t get any tougher than this, I promise:

Uh, well, maybe it does.  The funny part?  He didn’t want any evidence:

Kaitlynn got a new bike yesterday so we were all trying to help her get used to it’s size.  She kind of had to re-learn how to ride a bike because it is so much bigger.  Alden was especially helpful and when she got tired, he tried to teach her how to ride her heelies and gave her rides on the back of his bike.  THAT makes me happy.  My boys being good big brothers, what is better?

Yep, he was a good big brother, and a darned good lookin’ son-of-a-gun too:

It made for a very happy sister:

All of that combined made me one happy girl.  Don’t I look happy?

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Typically I never… I met Keith Urban…

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. fran  |  April 8, 2008 at 2:56 am

    Great post Jill…and yes I got a little twinge in my heart with all of your pictures….poor Nicki….anyway I digress….

    Love this post, except for one thing….the birds….I’m guessing you haven’t heard about my terrible fear of those flying creatures…..that nest gave me chills….ugh

    Reply
  • 2. fran  |  April 8, 2008 at 2:57 am

    PS your skin looked beautiful in the pic!!! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Tricia  |  April 8, 2008 at 4:40 am

    Lots of great ! Birds, blooms and helpful peeps! And yes, I agree with Fran, your skin looks great!

    Reply
  • 4. undonegirl  |  April 8, 2008 at 1:37 pm

    Well thanks for the skin encouragement girls, what you don’t know is that the biggest spot on my cheek is just cut off of the picture! I’m tricky. My dad gave me some cream though and it’s working! They might not be age spots. They might be a little rash I was getting…yippeee!!!

    Reply
  • 5. gretchen  |  April 9, 2008 at 1:46 am

    you are too funny
    i love this post…it made me happy
    your kids so love each other…
    love all the pics!

    Reply
  • 6. DeAnna  |  April 12, 2008 at 4:54 pm

    I have been so busy lately, that I have not had a chance to read the blogs. I was so happy to see your pics!! I especially like the one of Alden by himself crouching the street, not only is he a cutie potoootie, but I want the house in the background!! I love it! LOL. And BTW- tell your husband he is a complete dork!!! And ohhh so manly, I am sweating bullets!! ROFLMAO!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,661 hits

