Gurgle, gurgle..

March 29, 2008 at 11:25 pm 4 comments

 (warning: this may not be for those of you with weak stomachs) 

…is what my stomach has been doing since Tuesday night.  That was the night Alden woke us up at 3 am with “I just threw up, Mom.”  The words every parent loves to hear in the middle of the night. 

Me:  OK, sweetie.  I’m sorry.  Are you OK?

A: Yes.

Me: Good, just get back in your own bed (he slept with Powell that night) so that your brother doesn’t get sick.

A:  OK.  I can’t get in his bed anyway, there’s throw up in it.

(a thunderous noise from down the hall as Powell leaps out of bed)

P:  Oh gross!

Ahhhhh….you gotta love it.  It was little things like this that kept me going, my kids being funny in the midst of vomit.  Alden proceded to get sick five times in ten hours (that has got to be a record).  At one point, Tim was getting frustrated with the situation and I gently reminded him that there are parents of children with cancer who do this everyday and we should be grateful it’s only (at most) once a year.  This was kid number one being sick and I still had my wits about me.

On Thursday everybody was well.  We had playdates, we had sunshine.  It was glorious.  Just as we were settling into the latest version of Top Chef the phone rang.  Kaitlynn was staying the night at a friend’s and apparently had a stomach ache.  I promptly left to pick her up.  When we got home we decided straight to bed.  I was braiding her hair (just in case) when she took off to the bathroom.  A little mishap in the hallway and then to the toilet.  Bad.  Bad.  Bad.  Bad.  All I heard was Tim say “get in the shower” and then “Jill, can I put her glasses underwater?”  Bad.

She got off easier with only one more episode that made it ALL in the bucket.  Good girl!  She got a fever in the middle of the night that night and must have told me 12 times, “I’m blazin’ hot.”  It may be a location joke but it was hysterical.  She was so offended at being sick and completely irritated with me that I wasn’t making it go away.

Today, everyone was well.  There was game playing and birthday planning (Tim’s birthday is tomorrow) and lots of smiles as we loaded in the car to have dinner at Daddy’s new restaurant.  I should have known…..after all, I do have three children.

Powell fell asleep in the booth.  Yep, middle of the restaurant, almost 12 years old and asleep like a toddler on his mother’s lap.  Fast forward to getting home.  Kaitlynn is feeding the dogs and I’m switching a load of wash.

Alden:  Mom!  Powell just threw up!

Me: You’re not funny Alden.  Knock it off.

Alden:  Mom, he threw up!

Me:  Alden, seriously, stop talking about it.  Powell doesn’t feel well and he doesn’t need you talking about throw up right now.

Powell:  No Mom, I threw up. 

So here I am.  Because 12 loads of wash a week isn’t enough I now have an additional two based on the past 45 minutes.  I think it’s the 5th or 6th load of puke laundry so far.  Just as I was starting to think about getting a bad attitude about the whole thing, this happened:

Kaitlynn:  Mom, can we watch a taped episode of Home Makeover?

Me:  I don’t think so, Sweetie.  I’ve got a lot of laundry to do now and I need to get set up for the night; it could be a long one for me.

K: (begins to cry)  I’m sorry.

Me:  For what? 

K:  I’m sorry that you have to keep cleaning up yucky puke and we keep making more work for you.

Me: (realizing what it is all about I go over and sit her in my lap) Sweetie, you and your brothers and daddy are my dream come true.  This is what I do.  I would clean puke everyday if it meant you were always with me. 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Happy Easter! Typically I never…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tricia  |  March 30, 2008 at 5:50 am

    Very sweet sentiment and I totally understand where she was coming from, but daily puke cleaning. Ugh!!!!! I am sorry to hear that your family has been feeling so ill. I hope everyone is chipper and healthy to celebrate daddy’s birthday tomorrow!

    Reply
  • 2. gretchen  |  March 30, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    you are too sweet. just now getting around to reading your blog…i had no idea that this was all happening…i’m so sorry. i’m sure they will be ready for the birthday…and for school on monday!

    Reply
  • 3. fran  |  March 30, 2008 at 6:20 pm

    as someone who just recently spent two weeks with Mr. Stomach Virus!!!! I am so sorry! REALLY SORRY!

    Reply
  • 4. DeAnna  |  March 31, 2008 at 4:37 am

    Big Bummer. Now I just hope you and Tim don’t get it. The pukes are just second to earaches. What a pain!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,660 hits

