Some public…

March 18, 2008 at 1:52 pm 4 comments

…promises I am making to myself.  To me.  For me.  Because I deserve it.

It has been a hectic, hectic month.  Tim worked 24 days in a row, approximately 15 hours a day.  He is exhausted and I am exhausted.  I reminded me of what it was like when he was sick and I had no help around the house.  But this time is was slightly more difficult logistically.  The kids are bigger and it’s winter.  That means more laundry.  The kids all have homework every night.  I insisted on cooking every night to retain some sort of consistency while he was at work so that meant no help will the grilling (yes, I grilled pork chops for the first time in my life with the help of my dad on the other end of the phone) or cleaning up.  The kids missed him so I tried to keep their minds off of it by playing more games with them, watching their TV shows with them, etc. 

Tim had yesterday off.  The sky parted.  The angels sang.  We were happy little, exhausted people stuck like glue to one another all day long and I loved it.  We didn’t get one stinkin’ thing done but we soaked up each other’s company and went to the new World Marketplace and looked around, ate lunch out, you know, had fun together.

So now things are settling down and I am realizing that I have not done much for myself and I keep finding all kinds of things to do that keep me from that.  So here I go, some promises to myself:

  • I will scrapbook this week and next week.  I will get some of the layouts floating around in my head down on paper.  I will LOVE that.
  • I will exercise five days this week and next week because three days a week is no longer sufficient for this almost-40 year old body.
  • I will re-schedule the dentist appointment I cancelled last week.
  • I will clean out the closet in the playroom that I have wanted to clean out for about two months.
  • I will make the one-point muffins I have been craving.
  • I will blog about the funniest thing I’ve seen in a long time (right after I figure out how to write it so that you’ll also appreciate the humor…Gretchen, I think you know what this is….think yard sale lady).
  • If the weather holds I will make it into the backyard that I love and do some work!

There.  I did it.  I’ll keep you posted.  While you wait with bated breath, why don’t you tell me one thing you’ll do for yourself this week?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Taking the good…. Happy Easter!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. gretchen  |  March 18, 2008 at 4:39 pm

    i am so glad you guys had time together…i know you were missing that!

    let’s see one thing i’ll do for myself….i think i’ll agree with i will scrapbook this weekend (is that a trick, since i know i’m going to on saturday since being at the store and all??)

    have a great day!

    Reply
  • 2. DeAnna  |  March 18, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    Hey will you send me that recipe for the one point muffins? I lost mine!! Hmmm what will I do for myself this week???? I don’t know yet. Last week and I had a delicious massage!!

    Reply
  • 3. Tricia  |  March 18, 2008 at 11:12 pm

    I will live my life, go with the flow and not worry.

    Reply
  • 4. fran  |  March 19, 2008 at 3:02 am

    so glad you all got to spend some time together. it’s hard without a little help…you are a great mommy!

    what will I do for myself…hummmm….
    pay someone to re-paint my bathroom 🙂 (see blog for details)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,662 hits

