A reminder not to…

March 7, 2008 at 5:16 pm 8 comments

…count your chickens before they’re hatched.  You see, on Wednesday night I went to sleep quite certain that only one or two chickens would hatch the next day….MY BIRTHDAY…and I was a sad momma hen.  But you know what?  ALL of my chickens hatched! 

Tim has been working so much and been so distracted and birthdays are a BIG deal for me so I was sad that things would not be too festive for me.  I could not have been more wrong.

First off, I got cards from people who live in Tennessee!  New friends who remembered it was my day and mailed me birthday cards…like four of them!  That was huge because it showed me how far I’ve come since my first birthday here two years ago when I was a sad little puppy all alone all day long.

Chronologically  might be the best way to do this.  I woke up.  It was early and I was making lunchboxes while Tim sat at the kitchen table (shouldn’t he have done that?).  I wasn’t happy.  But then he insisted I open a few of my presents.  I got this camera strap that I asked specifically for:

camera-strap.jpg

I really wanted this and I was so excited that he visited the etsy store I told him about and bought it for me!  He also got me a subscription to a magazine that I would NEVER get for myself.  Too expensive.  But I’m so excited and the fact that it is not something I would ever get myself makes it a true gift.  Right after opening those and deciding to wait on opening the kids’ gift I decided to open my sister Jennifer’s gift.  An adorable tank top and jacket that I LOVED.  I wore it!

jacket.jpg

After getting all the kids off to school I dropped off Floyd at the groomer and picked up Gretchen.  Originally I had all these calls for work and they got re-scheduled and moved and crazy so I switched gears and we had the day planned to go to Green Hills Mall and Cheesecake Factory for lunch.  It was yummy.  But before we ever got there she had me open my presents….LOOK what she made me:

canvas.jpg

And don’t forget this….she didn’t….a frame with some writing on it that we saw in OCTOBER and I loved (what it said) and she got for me.

frame.jpg

OK, so what next?  Hmmmm…..oh yes, going into Gretchen’s so that I could check out Tricia’s blog.  You can see what she did for me here: Crazy Girl.  I loved it though….made me very happy.  She also sent me this:

tape-runner.jpg

 I came home, talked to DeAnna on the phone (so fun, always) and got to see my parents!  They are always good to see (today I get to extend my birthday and go out to lunch with my step-mom).  They got me a chest that I really needed to store guest linens and things. 

trunk.jpg

I also got an adorable jacket that unfortunately has a stain on the back of it so I will be exchanging that today….I hear they have different colors too!

second-jacket.jpg

Then of course, who doesn’t love getting this?

moola.jpg

After my parents left all the kids were home from school and I got to open my gifts from them.  We were planning on going out to eat for dinner so we thought we’d do it then.  They gave me this, because they know I love a summer dress…I live in them in the summertime.

dress.jpg

I got this…..simply the best thing ever.  Powell wrote it for me. 

poem.jpg

I don’t know if you can read it:

Your heart is no ordinary heart.  It is made of the purest gold.  You can be embarassing but you put a smile on my face.  You can be angry at us but you go through a happy phase.  Your smile is better than the sun on a cartoon.  But always remember this: your family loves you.  Happy B-day Mom, your little man

OK, I know, go get a tissue…..oh, and don’t count your chickens before they’re hatched.  : )

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Just figuring… Taking the good….

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jules  |  March 7, 2008 at 7:15 pm

    Oh that is such a sweet note!! You sound like you had a pretty great day, I love the dress so pretty!

    Reply
  • 2. Lisa  |  March 7, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    oh, such a sweet little man! The dress is adorable and you got such great other goodies.
    Happy Birthday!

    Reply
  • 3. Tricia  |  March 7, 2008 at 9:33 pm

    What a great day you had! I am so glad it turned out to be more than you hoped for.

    Reply
  • 4. FolsomJen  |  March 7, 2008 at 10:38 pm

    Happy Birthday Jill! You have the most amazing family and friends!

    Reply
  • 5. DeAnna  |  March 8, 2008 at 3:37 am

    I am so glad your husband surprised you!! He did great!! Tell him I said so!! You had a great day. And by the way, my gift is still on it’s way. Like I told you yesterday, I am a true believer in stretching out the birthday for at least a month!! BTW- No outdoor rug? That was a surprise too huh? HAHAHAHA you got messed with yesterday silly jilly. LOL!!

    Reply
  • 6. DeAnna  |  March 8, 2008 at 3:38 am

    One more thing, that note from Powell is more precious than anything. OH MY GOODNESS. Scrap it quick!!

    Reply
  • 7. fran  |  March 8, 2008 at 2:51 pm

    you are really loved!!!
    I am so glad you had a great day….
    but you forgot just one thing….
    that email sent that spared you a live version of “Happy Birthday” 🙂

    Really, Jill, I am glad you had such a wonderful day!!!

    Happy Birthday!

    Reply
  • 8. gretchen  |  March 8, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    i’ve tried to comment on this post 100x…well maybe not that many, but it kept shutting me off…

    so…

    i’m so glad you had a great birthday…i’m so glad i got to spend the day with you…i’m glad you like your sunshine canvas…and i’m glad we both got the gift of organization…hey, you didn’t post a picture of it…i’m sure it’s coming…

    happy day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,662 hits

