A bit of…

February 25, 2008 at 3:52 pm 4 comments

…news and a quick thought.  First, the menu for this week is up.  I’ve moved it to the side bar to the right and you should see it listed under “pages”.

Now for my thought: I think it is important that we teach our children how to handle stress.  I think that we have become so accustomed in our society to making everything alright for our children: not letting them cry, telling them it’s ok when clearly they are upset and it’s not ok, etc.  I remember when the boys were little….I felt so strongly that I needed to teach them how to sleep on their own.  I thought, “how frustrating would it be if I wanted to sleep and needed Tim with me or needed this or that in order to fall asleep?”  I taught them how to go to sleep on their own and it made a world of difference.  Tim and I had time to spend together in the evenings, they could put themselves back to sleep in the middle of the night without waking up the entire house, etc.

Now I think it’s the same with stress.  Look at the adults around you.   Notice that some of them handle stress and some don’t?  It isn’t a temperament thing, people.  It’s a learned thing.  God love my husband, he’s a wonderful man.  He was never taught how to deal with his stress and to this day it is something that he struggles against.  I am trying to strike a good balance for my children.  They need to learn that work (school) is serious and you have to achieve and you have to do your best.  They also need to know that there is a time to shrug it off, relax and enjoy your life (even with the stressor still present).

Alden is frequently upset when he gets off the school bus.  The kids have been misbehaving and he’s just wired about it.  He now gets home and goes to his room for about fifteen minutes.  He either lays on his bed and looks out the window or reads or sometimes listens to music.  This is teaching my child to cope with his stress in a healthy way.  See what I mean?  Kaitlynn gets all wound up and she takes a bath.  Powell, well, Powell doesn’t really get stressed out, he’s pretty mellow.  But when he gets agitated he knows he needs to be alone or sometimes he’ll go in the garage and hit/kick the punching bag. 

So what is something you can do to teach your child how to handle the stress in their lives?  Not to try and eliminate the stress or pretend it isn’t there, the bad mood doesn’t exist, the bad mood is bad (which is also not good, they’re allowed to be grumpy; they’re just not allowed to be rude/mean/disrespectful in their grumpiness).  Let’s not send our children out into the world without preparing them to have the best life they can possibly have.

Now, on a lighter note: Kaitlynn got new glasses!  She was in a rut of always picking the pink-rimmed metal glasses.  I convinced her that new glasses would be so much better by selling her on the idea that we would get matching glasses.  I think she looks so cute!

new-glasses.jpg

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I’ve been thinking… A hunkered…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amber Ulmer  |  February 25, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    Cutest Glasses for miss K!!!

    Reply
  • 2. fran  |  February 25, 2008 at 5:37 pm

    those glasses are adorable………

    I love your insightful posts!!!
    I agree with you 100%, now all you have to do is teach me how to teach them 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Tricia  |  February 25, 2008 at 6:01 pm

    Hi, I am commenting! Nice glasses!

    Reply
  • 4. gretchen owens  |  February 25, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    love those glasses….really, love them…

    love your stress talk…you are sooo good.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,660 hits

