So it’s…

February 7, 2008 at 4:07 pm 4 comments

…my dad’s birthday today.    I am a big birthday person.  I am someone who LOVES birthdays and LOVES to celebrate them.  I don’t know, it just seems like it is such a good day to celebrate the life of someone you love.  Yes, you should be letting them know everyday that you love them, but I think it’s nice to reflect on that person and how they have blessed your life for an entire day.

I come from what many call a “broken family.”  To me, it’s just my family.  I really don’t remember it any other way because I was very young when my parents split up.  There was a lot of crap in my childhood; a lot that is best to forget.  But here is what I remember about my father:

  • he never added to the crap pile.
  • my dad NEVER missed a single time he was able to have us, he was never late picking us up and he always made us the center of his attention while with him.  I think this is amazing because he was a young, good-looking guy who could have been out introducing us to all kinds of women but he didn’t.  He kept our time for us and only two long-term girlfriends (one of whom is now my step-mom) were ever allowed to join in.
  • my dad paid his child support.  In a time and age when you hear about so many dads not paying child support, this is worth pointing out.  Want more?  He typically paid MORE than he was ordered, of his own accord, because he wanted to make sure we had everything we needed.
  • when I was 12 I got to move in with him.  He was a newlywed and they had every reason in the world to want to be alone for a few years but instead they embraced having us move in and provided a loving, structured home that was a wonderful place to be.
  • my dad exposed me to things.  We drove to Alaska from California, we went to Hawaii, lakes, mountains, picking apples, fishing, all over the South…there are pictures of me in front of the Washington Monument, in the middle of fields of gorgeous flowers, by hot springs, on a stuffed moose, on beaches….  He took us to nice restaurants and told us to order whatever we wanted off the menu.  He told me stories about his life and my grandparents’ lives, he tried to teach me about stocks and he definitely taught me about how to be an upstanding citizen.
  • my dad was not perfect.  He has done and said things that have hurt.  Each one of them was rooted in his love for me though; of that I am sure.  I am also sure of this: each one has been forgiven and put away where it belongs.

When it comes down to it, I had an amazing father.  I feel so blessed to still have him.  To know that he is 73 years old today and still fit, healthy and sharp as a tack is comforting and inspiring.  He married an amazing woman who has loved us and cared for us for over 30 years now (really amazing since they’ve only been married 26).  She is the perfect fit for my dad.

In the end, I really don’t feel like I come from a “broken family.”  I feel like I have exactly the family I was/am supposed to have.  I think a lot of that has to do with my dad and his ability to swallow his pride when it needed to be swallowed and focus on his children.  I have an amazing father and I just wanted to take this post to honor him.

(I’d give you  more recent photos but it would entail tearing up wedding albums and scrapbook pages so instead, we’ll take a walk down childhood memory lane)

02-07-2008-094229am.jpg02-07-2008-094659am.jpg02-07-2008-094959am.jpg02-07-2008-095040am.jpg

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I guess it was… A really good….

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. FolsomJen  |  February 8, 2008 at 12:19 am

    Awww Jill! You made me tear up! What a great father you have…HAPPY BIRTHDAY DAD!!

    Reply
  • 2. fran  |  February 8, 2008 at 5:27 am

    this is great jill!

    Reply
  • 3. Michelle  |  February 8, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    Your post really touched me.. my Dad’s birthday was on 5th Feb.

    I love that you listed all the memories you had with your dad.. he sounds a lot like mine too..

    Thanks so much for sharing.. and you’re so blessed to have a daddy like him.

    Reply
  • 4. gretchen  |  February 11, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    love this…i guess i never saw it when you inintially posted it….love the pictures..and the memories are wonderful.

    you do have a great dad…love the part about not having a “broken” family…love it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,662 hits

