It’s time…

February 3, 2008 at 2:14 pm 4 comments

….to simplify.  Since moving to Tennessee two and a half years ago my life has been much calmer, much less busy and I have enjoyed every minute of it.  I knew before ever stepping foot on TN soil that God was sending me into a season of rest.  I’d say it was easily two years before I felt like He was telling me I could step out of it.  There were times I felt itchy but most of the time I just let myself rest.  I didn’t realize how deeply my spirit needed rest; I thought I knew when I was heading into it, but I had no idea.  All of the activity from Tim’s leukemia, adopting Kaitlynn and the financial strains that come with both (which meant at one point I was working three jobs) in addition to the normal business of raising two boys….I was bone exhausted and becoming numb in my spirit.

So now we’re here.  In a place where I am rested, clear-headed and happy with where I’m at.  Things have started to pick up as I took on a job from home, added a pool and a garden to the backyard (that right there is a ton of work), etc. etc.  I am at a place where I really want to make time for the things that are important to me outside of my family and my home.  I want to cook even more than I do now, I want to blog  and have something to say, I want to scrapbook every week and play games with my children.  In order to have time for all of that, I’ve got to simplify and I’ve got to manage my time well.

All of this came about because I was thinking about doing a challenge blog for scrapbooking.  You know what I realized?  It would be one more thing that I would feel like I had to do instead of something that I was choosing to do.   Sure, I would start out choosing it but eventually, in my mind, it would move over to the to-do list.  So I’m not committing to a challenge blog; I’ll keep up with it and I’ll do the ones I am inspired by but I’m not going to put the pressure of doing it all on my plate.

Tim is starting a new job in the morning, he will be busy, busy for many months to come.  The change was a risk and the pay is almost exact but at the end of the year, not exact so I’ve got to work a little more in order to secure our peace of minds in the finance area.  I don’t mind doing that but it has served as the impotus for really focusing on simplifying things around here.  No more manicures — I don’t need to spend the time or the money on that.  No TV until after 8:00 pm — I usually like to watch TV after dinner but that is too early and it is time I could use to play games with the kids or scrapbook.  See what I mean?  Simple little alterations to simplify my life and focus on what is important to me.  Yesterday I spent the entire day cleaning out closets and re-organizing my laundry room and kitchen; it was time to get the clutter out of those spaces so that I could be more efficient when I used them.  I am going to start planning out lunchboxes like I plan out dinners; the kids will get better lunchboxes and I’ll be less likely to spend money on school lunches.

What is a change you could make to simplify your life?  Leave a comment and I’ll be choosing one (with the help of my kids) this week.  The “chosen one” will get a little gift from me in the mail!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

So much… I guess it was…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anne Williams  |  February 3, 2008 at 6:21 pm

    Jill, I am so inspired by what you said about God providing you with a period of rest. I am in that season, myself. I have decided to: don’t just do something, stand there … instead of the usual adage – don’t just stand there, do something! Sometimes we get so caught up in taking action – moving on just for the sake of feeling like we are doing something. It is equally important to savor the times of rest and quiet contemplation.

    And, I made a similar decision about no t.v. after dinner! My daughter began to have nightmares, so I made the proclamation that the kids can watch t.v. while I make dinner, but after that it is time to play quietly and wind down. So far, so good! Kids need times of rest, too, but they lean on us to take the lead and take the t.v. and video games away and put things like toys, instruments, and books in their hands instead. I was relying a bit much on the electronic babysitter – but no more!!

    Thanks for your inspiration!

    Reply
  • 2. fran  |  February 4, 2008 at 1:33 am

    you know what I am going to do to simplify my life……come to your cooking school every week for our meal plans and grocery lists 🙂

    gotta love that!

    Reply
  • 3. gretchenowens  |  February 4, 2008 at 8:37 pm

    i am simplifing by saying “no” this year and having more time to chill at home with the family….i’m doing pretty good at it, too! yay!

    Reply
  • 4. FolsomJen  |  February 6, 2008 at 12:01 am

    Funny that you write this blog. We just had a lady from HGTV who talks about all the organizing and de-cluttering of your homes come and speak to us at our MOPS meeting last week. Ever since…I have been a machine. Who would have known how much “stuff” we have in our house that we NEVER use!? I think I have bought up every clear, plastic tub at Target! I, too, am trying to clean up and simplify my life.

    The first thing I did was buy a small filing type box…to keep all the stuff that normally would pile up on the counters. Every family member has a color folder so their items can go directly into their color folder…school items, party invitations, etc. I also have a “To Do” file for everything that I need to get done or am currently working on. Other files include: articles to read, coupons, health, etc. So much easier to have it all filed nicely. It also saves me time. I mean, really, how much time do we spend hunting for that one piece of paper that we had just seen the other day…somewhere! Sounds so simple but works so well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,662 hits

