So much…

February 2, 2008 at 4:27 am 5 comments

…to say! I’m so excited. I have such high hopes for this blog; who knows if I’ll ever have the technical savvy to pull it off, but I have high hopes just the same.  One of the things I really want to do is add another page called “Cooking School.”  I love to cook.  I love to bake.  In general, I think that it is a philosophy and a belief that I hold dearly that is at the root for my love of cooking.  I truly believe I should have been born Italian for my love of cooking; maybe that is my Italian step-mother’s influence on me.

Anyway, to me cooking is an expression of love; it is a very intimate way to care for someone and I love that about it.  I love that while you are cooking you can pray over the people you are preparing food for, you can quiet your mind and enjoy the sounds, sights and smells of your kitchen.  I love the look on people’s faces when they sit down to enjoy the food or when they walk through the kitchen and realize what you’re doing.  I also think that dinnertime is a lost art in America.  In jr. high and high school I sat down with my parents every night for dinner and dinner usually lasted about two hours.  We talked about everything and sometimes I just listened and learned from them.  I really believe that this time with them kept me on the straight and narrow; I knew my parents and I respected them and I knew clearly what was expected of me because of the time we spent together at the dinner table.

So that brings me to Cooking School.  I come across so many women today that say they hate cooking or they don’t know how to cook.  And God bless them, but Martha and Rachel Ray don’t quite cut the mustard when it comes to realistically helping you plan your meals for the week.  So here is what I propose: each week I will provide a grocery list and dinner plans for the week.  I will probably also include some baked goodies just because I can’t help myself.  These recipes will be realistic, include substitutions and suggestions for how to tweak them so your little ones will eat (therefore making it easier on you), kitchen tool/gadget suggestions, etc.  I have an idea of a very content-rich page that will allow you to learn, become inspired and really, truly learn how to cook.  In addition, I hope to simplify your life for you.  To put an end to the question: what should I cook for dinner?  I’m going to try and get this all organized in the next week.  I will run one week ahead of you so that I have photos to share and tips on what works and what doesn’t.  I’m excited and I hope you are too.

Now, in other news, I CUT SIX INCHES OFF MY HAIR today.  Yes, six inches.  I didn’t even panic while I was doing it and the boys in my house are slowly becoming accustomed to it (please pray for Powell, he isn’t feeling well….fever…so he hasn’t really had much of a reaction at all). 

dsc_0249.jpg

Finally, I know that I promised I’d share all my thoughts from last weekend.  I will.  I am just tired now but they are also something I’m very excited about.  I promise, I’m going to get it together this weekend and make myself sit down and do it!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

What a… It’s time…

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amber Ulmer  |  February 2, 2008 at 3:45 pm

    WOW!!! Look at you!!! Totally dig the short cut!!!! Loves it!!!

    Reply
  • 2. fran  |  February 2, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    first, LOVE the haircut!
    Second, your idea for this cooking school thing! I love it! I love to cook! But, I’m not gonna lie, you would make my life so much easier…..grocery list AND dinner plans….hello! I hate doing that! I may just drive to TN to kiss you!

    Reply
  • 3. gretchenowens  |  February 3, 2008 at 1:02 am

    love it….so excited about this new venture of yours…..

    Reply
  • 4. Karen  |  February 3, 2008 at 1:24 am

    love the new do…….very rocker girl!

    Reply
  • 5. FolsomJen  |  February 5, 2008 at 11:52 pm

    First, LOVE the hair! Good for you! Second, I am liking this cooking school idea. Will these be healthy meals? I am sort of on a “finally lose the muffin top so I can wear the cute low cut jeans” diet! HAHA I look forward to your cooking ideas!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,660 hits

