Do you ever get the feeling…

January 15, 2008 at 4:15 pm 2 comments

…that you are standing on the edge of something great?  A time when you can tell that you are getting ready to be brought into a whole new phase of life? 

I am feeling that in such an enormous way lately.  Tim is giving his notice at work in two days.  In two days.  We thought that we would be with this company until retirement.  But it seems that God is moving us (not geographically) yet again.  I don’t have any answers to the more difficult questions this change entails, I just know we have to do it.

Then there is the family and ministry.  If I have learned anything through walking the roads I’ve traveled, it’s this: when things get really difficult, it is usually because a change is coming.  The Bible says that we “battle not against flesh and blood but against powers and principalities.”  I swear sometimes that if there was a zipper floating in the air and you unzipped it, you’d see that battle all around you.  It has been raging at my house.  A discontent, a bickering spirit, it’s been here. 

But all of this is happening at the same time; a time when I know change is eminent.  It’s exciting.  Bring it on.  I know I can fight this battle and I know I can win because I know how to win.  Surrender.  Yep, surrender.  That is how I have won each and every time.  When I surrender myself to be obedient to God’s will in my life (even when I don’t understand it) I win every time.  The second thing I know from this road I’ve traveled?  God dreams bigger for me than I do for myself.

So over the next several weeks I know I will be learning some new things, changing and hopefully growing into a newer creation in Christ.  I’m excited to see the changes in store, not because I’m unhappy where I am, but because I want to get to where I’m supposed to be.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I did it… I’ve been a bad, bad…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. fran  |  January 15, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    Jill, you just have the best outlook on things! love your perspective!

    Reply
  • 2. gretchenowens  |  January 15, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    love that whole zipper image….man, the way you put things on paper (e-paper) is amazing….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,661 hits

