I did it…

January 12, 2008 at 6:01 pm 3 comments

…you may or may not know that one my goals for myself this year is to allow myself to be a little more “out there” in public. I typically can’t stand for people to notice me in public so I sneak it and I sneak out and I get my business done hopefully with no one staring. Yes, I know this is a little odd and yes, I know it stems from some things in my childhood and yes, I even know what those things are. But I don’t think it’s a huge deal except when it prevents me from being able to let go and embrace a moment. Hence, the goal.

So, this morning I took Powell to Hollywood Video to rent a game for the weekend. It’s a cold weekend here, Kaitlynn has a playdate, Alden is always busy with some project or another and Tim is at work. So the thought of getting Powell happy for a few hours so that I could scrap was very appealing. Besides, the report card he brought home yesterday was stellar so I figured the kid deserved a day of zoning out. But I digress…

We are strolling through the store by ourselves…well, we thought by ourselves until we heard this man yelling. ‘YOU WANT THAT ONE? I DON’T KNOW WHO SHE IS! YOU’RE SUPPOSED TO TELL ME WHO SHE IS! OK! PICK IT UP!’ Obviously, this man does not have the same affliction as I. Powell and I just looked at each other and continued on. So did the man. On and on and on the entire time we were in the store. I finally asked Powell, “do you think his child is hard of hearing?” Even the cashier rolled his eyes. That is when I had an idea (like I usually do) and I acted on it (like I usually don’t).

We got out of the store and there were a few people in the parking lot. I turned to Powell and yelled: ‘I’M REALLY GLAD YOU GOT THE GAME YOU WANTED, POWELL! I HOPE YOU’LL PLAY OUTSIDE A LITTLE TOO IF IT WARMS UP! MAKE SURE YOU SHARE IT WITH YOUR BROTHER!” Powell started laughing so hard he asked me to stop because he was afraid he would pee.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

My boys have good senses… Do you ever get the feeling…

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. fran  |  January 13, 2008 at 3:07 pm

    good for you, and you are such a fun mama!

    Reply
  • 2. gretchen  |  January 14, 2008 at 2:40 am

    you are hilarious….seriously….

    Reply
  • 3. FolsomJen  |  January 14, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    You made me laugh out loud!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,660 hits

