There are many things…

December 30, 2007 at 8:17 pm 1 comment

…I could choose to write about today.  Like the fact that over the past few days I have completed a mini album….a Faithbook…and I LOVE it.  I actually can’t believe I made it myself.  If you’d like to see it, take a look here:

Scrap in Style TV: member profile

But I don’t think I’ll ramble on about how creative I am feeling right now.  Instead, as is par for this time of year, I will indulge the whole “resolutions” thing.  I HAVE NEVER MADE A NEW YEARS RESOLUTION.  There, I said it.  For those of you who need to gasp, gasp.  But I have never done it.  I guess I don’t see the whole hoopla about a new year and new year’s eve, etc.  Why does anything change because the year does?  It doesn’t change from March to April or from Tuesday to Wednesday, so why such a big deal from 2007 to 2008?

But then I started thinking.  Maybe I have never set a resolution because I have never really allowed big dreaming in my life.  I’m pretty pragmatic by nature so dreaming doesn’t always play into the equation for me (though I am trying to change that a bit).  Then again, maybe I’ve never set a resolution because all you ever hear is that people fail at them and I have NEVER been one to set myself up for failure.  So, I think that this year I am going to turn the whole thing upside down and then participate in it.  I am going to write down my Hopes.  The Bible tells us that “hope does not disappoint”.  I also recently purchased a picture and it says: “hope is one of my favorite emotions because of it’s humility.  It’s not like gladness or joy which stick around just for the good stuff.  Hope is my heart’s missionary.  It humbly seeks fear and shame and hurt and befriends them.  Hope enters the very dusitest parts of my heart, cleans out the cobwebs, and whispers of the promise of eternal perfection…”

So here is my Hopes List for 2008:

  1. I hope my husband will find true happiness again in his job.
  2. I hope my daughter will find a friend that loves her as much as she loves her friend.
  3. I hope Powell will discover the gift God has placed in him.
  4. I hope Alden will learn to not take offenses too seriously.
  5. I hope to finish the recipes in the Martha Stewart Baking Handbook.
  6. I hope to have a thriving Life Net group.
  7. I hope to have another year with Keturah.
  8. I hope to go to California and Florida.
  9. I hope to continue to grow more into myself and stay true to it.

What are your hopes for 2008?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

MERRRRRRRY CHRISTMAS! It begs the question…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. gretchen  |  December 31, 2007 at 4:37 pm

    wow that is really good. i want to do a hopes list, too. so much better than a resolution…..great idea!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,661 hits

