So I decked ’em…

December 12, 2007 at 9:29 pm 3 comments

…the halls that is.  I was having a hard time getting into the Christmas spirit this year.  It just seemed like it wasn’t really time, what with seeing the stuff since before Halloween it became kind of second nature.  Crazy retailers.  Anyway, last Thursday night Kaitlynn came home from her weekly art class with the trick.  It was this:

dscf2228.jpg

I tell you, that was all I needed.  I just LOVE this little guy.  The boys did some angels and snowmen when they were younger and this guy has been the perfect addition to that collection.  Anyway, it made me ready to deck the halls!  The next night we all went and got our tree (not so festive as we chose to go to Lowe’s because they’re a good $40 cheaper there) and set it up to let the branches “fall”.  Then I woke up the next morning; it was a day of decorating and light-hanging and havin’ a ball. 

That evening we all decorated the tree and then sat and watched “Grinch”, “Rudolph” and “Santa Claus is Coming to Town”.  Loved it.  Perfect start to the season….and in MY time, not the retailers!  Here are some pictures of the decking:

dscf2241.jpgdscf2240.jpgdscf2239.jpg

Now, if you are having a hard time getting in the festive mood, may I recommend some music to get you movin’ to the season?  Check these out (if I could have given you a direct link or a video/audio I would have, just not that savvy yet):

http://myspace.com/joshgroban

http://toddagnew.musichristian.com/product.php?PRODUCT=253068

http://music.msn.com/album/?album=32406198

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

And yet there is peace… The scary place…

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. gretchen  |  December 13, 2007 at 4:04 am

    i’m so glad you got your tree…..can’t wait to see it!

    that little reindeer guy is soooooo cute! i can’t wait until my kids come home with things like that! tell her i love it!

    Reply
  • 2. gretchen  |  December 13, 2007 at 4:07 am

    i cracked up…..just now i was reading your sidebar on the right where it lists your posts….get this….and read it straight through…hilarious

    “So I decked them….and yet there is peace. I must be some kind of prophet or something….ahh my life, a moment I noticed.”

    funny, huh!

    just an observation!

    Reply
  • 3. franrunner  |  December 13, 2007 at 12:05 pm

    I love that lil’ reindeer, and the music links! thanks!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,662 hits

