I must be some kind of prophet or something…

December 6, 2007 at 11:52 pm 2 comments

…because as Tim and I were shopping for a new porch Christmas decoration yesterday (yes, I had him in the store and he was actually contributing and happy to be there) I said, “I think this would be really cute with popcorn strung on it; oh and little red berries.  The kids would love doing that with us tonight.  (light bulb moment) Oh, I hope the raccoons or a fox don’t eat it off.”

Ahhh….yes, it was a LOVELY theory….uh, idea.  In reality, it went something more like this:

Here is one of the children that is supposed to be stringing popcorn.

8-17-07-011.jpg

Here is who actually strung popcorn, actually stringing it as the photo was taken.

layouts-014.jpg

Here is the dog who was trying to eat the popcorn as it was being strung causing much frustration for the husband who tried to hang in there and string popcorn (yes, she is actually gazing adoringly at the popcorn in this photo).

layouts-013.jpg

So we stopped 3/4 of the way done and went to dinner.  I had a thought at dinner: “is the popcorn safe?”  I thought, just relax, enjoy this dinner out with your family, you put it up high and in the middle so no edges are exposed and it’s high.  (sigh)

This morning when I went to put it all together on the new trees for the front porch there was just a bowl of unstrung popcorn and a bunch of corn husks all over the immediate area (yes, even the needle was gone which would ordinarily really worry me but I was a little too awestruck at the acrobatics it must have taken a four-legged creature to get to it in the first place), I knew it was one of these dogs (don’t they look like they’ve been up to no-good?):

layouts-018.jpg

Now I’m not one for pointing fingers but if you made me choose just one…

layouts-015.jpg

I’m just saying. 

So, my cute little popcorn stringing was not to be done.  If the dogs didn’t get it the fox or the raccoons or some other critter probably would have, in the end, they probably saved the whole darned trees.  This is what I ended up with…not as cute as popcorn but it’ll do.  Oh, and I found half the needle on the ground a few hours later…

layouts-016.jpg

layouts-017.jpg

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

ahhh….my life And yet there is peace…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. gretchen  |  December 7, 2007 at 4:47 pm

    very, very cute…..hilarious story!

    you really think it was cute little floyd?

    Reply
  • 2. franrunner  |  December 7, 2007 at 7:51 pm

    hilarious!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,661 hits

