ahhh….my life

December 4, 2007 at 12:09 am 2 comments

Undone Laundry

 Yes folks, this is what a college degree can get you too!  This is the scene every Monday at my house (and it isn’t showing you the four other loads that are either in process or waiting nor does it show you the ironing).  After years of trying to perfect a system for laundry, I finally found it.  I know this may not be very exciting for many of you, but I find it thrilling.  I can’t stand that the laundry never seems to be done or the little piles that need to be done or put away.  Hence, a system to free my vision of laundry for 5 of the 7 days of the week!  And the best part?  It includes taking the guilt out of a guilty pleasure.

It begins on Sunday after church when all three kids sort their laundry into the upstairs hallway, add Tim and I and there you go…the Mt. Everest of laundry (don’t you just love that the laundry triples in the winter).  It gets washed, dried and laid flat all day long.  On Monday, after dropping everyone off at school there is a trip to Starbucks to be made.  This time of year it includes a tall non-fat chai tea latte and a pumpkin scone.  Upon my arrival at home I get myself all set up.  Move the ottomon slightly over in the family room, turn on the big screen, push the laundry basket into the room and begin!  It takes hours to fold everything and iron.  Normally, this would make one cringe.  But you know what?  That one cringing didn’t DVR Desperate Housewives, Brothers & Sisters and hours of Martha Stewart the week before (here is the guilty pleasure: I don’t have to feel guilty about sitting and watching TV in the middle of the day if I’m folding laundry and ironing).  So there I sit, folding and stacking, folding and stacking.  When I’m done, my little peepers are spinning from all the TV and I have the complete satisfaction of knowing that when the kids come home and put their stacks away, I don’t have to look at laundry for five more days.

dscf2213.jpg

dscf2214.jpg

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

A moment I noticed I must be some kind of prophet or something…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. franrunner  |  December 4, 2007 at 4:28 pm

    gotta admit, I am inspired……one thing, do you have any suggestions when you have a three year old and almost two year old, undoing everything you have done………

    Reply
  • 2. gretchenowens  |  December 5, 2007 at 9:29 pm

    that is great….i need to try a form of this for sure!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,662 hits

