A moment I noticed

December 2, 2007 at 8:12 pm 3 comments

You know, one of the goals that I have set for myself over the past year or so has been to live in the moment more.  It seems that life has given me many reasons  to either want to escape the moment or be so busy that I can’t look up to notice it.  So in growing older and hopefully somewhat wiser and in being able to walk through a season where life is really good and effortless, I decided to try and gain the ability of being in the moment.

It isn’t as easy as it sounds.  By nature, I don’t like to be noticed.  How is that related to living in the moment?  Well, living in the moment requires letting go and letting go often requires people noticing you.  I’ve really conquered the living in the moment parts where I stop what I’m doing to look at my children while they are talking to me; see the joy in their play instead of the mess they are making; being true to myself and not taking on tasks and responsibilities that I don’t want to take on (I used to overextend myself); realizing how truly blessed I am on a daily basis…..but the whole live in the moment stuff that requires people possibly looking at me is still really hard for me.  But I found some inspiration the other night.

You know I loved the Keith Urban concert (he, by the way, knows how to live in the moment).  What you don’t know is that at one point he pulled a girl up on stage.  She must have been about 13 or so.  She was holding a sign that said, “please don’t let another day go by without a hug from you” and he saw it and said, “well ok, get up here.”  She did and when she got her hug, she did not let go.  She didn’t do it in a crazy, I’m-a-freak way, she just realized that this was her chance and she wasn’t going to rush it.  He ended up getting a chair on stage for her to sit next to him while he sang the next song and when he put the mic in front of her….THAT GIRL DIDN’T HESITATE, TURN RED OR SHAKE HER HEAD ‘NO’.  SHE SANG.  She sang in front of thousands of people, in front of professional musicians.  Completely living the moment and extracting every bit of what it had for her.  She’s my inspiration.  When I was a middle-schooler I was uncomfortable 90% of the time.  Most people probably never knew it, but I was.  I could have never done what she did and for that, I will allow her to be my inspiration of letting go and living in my moments.

 Finally, I will also allow myself to acknowledge and appreciate the victory of living in the quieter, private moments of my life.  Here is a picture of one of those moments from yesterday.  I was sitting in my scrapbooking studio finishing up on stuffing the Christmas cards to be mailed.  I looked up and this is what I saw in front of me…beautiful, isn’t it?

layouts-011.jpg

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

So here I go…. ahhh….my life

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. franrunner  |  December 2, 2007 at 10:00 pm

    REALLY BEAUITFUL!!! (the post AND the pic!)

    PS You and Gretchen are SO right, one party from now on….

    Reply
  • 2. FolsomJen  |  December 3, 2007 at 1:00 am

    You have always had a way with words! Very inspiring blog my dear friend! I love that you are doing this…I look forward to reading more.

    Reply
  • 3. gretchen  |  December 3, 2007 at 7:55 pm

    love it….this is great….you do have a way with words…that is for sure!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 21,661 hits

